

Oregon Attorney General's Sexual Assault Task Force

Testimony in support of HB 2472 Senate Committee on Judiciary April 23, 2019

Chair Prozanski, Vice Chair Thatcher and Members of the Committee,

On behalf of the Oregon Attorney General's Sexual Assault Task Force (SATF), I am submitting this letter in support of HB 2472.

SATF is a private, non-profit, non-governmental statewide agency with over 100 multi-disciplinary members who serve as advisors to the Task Force, advancing our mission to support a multi-disciplinary, survivor-centered approach to the prevention of and response to sexual violence in Oregon.

The Sex Offender Treatment Board was established in 2007 following the passage of HB 3233, and is administered by the Oregon Health Authority, Health Licensing Office (OHA-SOTB). The SOTB was the first step toward recognizing sex offense specific treatment as a specialization and positively impacted sex offense specific treatment by developing professional standards of practice and guidelines.

In 2017, by way of passing HB2633, we expanded the jurisdiction of the SOTB to include non-adjudicated sexual abusers or those at risk of abuse, and established a third tier of certification² to address the scarcity of treatment providers in rural and frontier Oregon.

It is our goal with HB2472 to continue our efforts to expand capacity and access to treatment services by **establishing an intern track**, increasing opportunities for those who wish to enter the field.

Secondly, it has always been the intent of the Sexual Assault Task Force that sexual abuse specific treatment be recognized as an area of specialization, therefore HB2472 strengthens Oregon's ability to provide consistent oversight and evidence-based standards of practice for all sexual abuse specific treatment providers by establishing that only those holding certification under the OHA-SOTB, can practice sex offense specific treatment services.

¹ Members are appointed by Attorney General Rosenblum and serve as advisors on 1 of 8 subcommittees including: Campus, Criminal Justice, Legislative & Public Policy, Medical-Forensic, Men's Engagement, Offender Management, Prevention Education, and Victim Response.

² There are currently three tiers of certification: 1) Certified Clinical Sex Offender Therapist, and 2) Certified Secondary Clinical Sex Offender Therapist, and 3) Certified Associate Sex Offender Therapist

HB2472 additionally addresses two minor areas of clean-up to include:

- **Renaming "**Secondary **Associate** Sex Offender Therapist" to "Secondary **Clinical** Sex Offender Therapist".
- Renaming "Sex Offender Treatment Board" to "Sex Offense Treatment Board".*

*The term "Offender" refers to people who have been adjudicated for a sexual offense.
Renaming "Offender" to "Offense" reflects the jurisdiction of the SOTB, which provides oversight of treatment providers serving adjudicated and non-adjudicated sexual abusers.

The stakeholder group convened for the current iteration of this legislation engaged in thoughtful and robust conversations about ensuring increased access to treatment services to include:

- Developing, by way of rule-making, the parameters and requirements for the intern track established in HB2472.
- Developing, by way of rule-making, the treatment and clinical supervision requirements for practitioners offering culturally-specific access to treatment to include *language* access and culturally specific treatment services that increase the positive outcomes of sex offense specific treatment and reduce rates of recidivism.

Treatment providers assume a vital role in protecting the public from sexual abusers who remain in the community. Protection of the community can be undermined by a lack of regulated and approved practices. Moreover, it is critically important that the treatment professionals who have been charged with reducing recidivism and rehabilitating sexual abusers have the specific education, training and skills necessary. For these reasons, we urge your support of HB 2472.

Respectfully,

Michele Roland-Schwartz Executive Director