Kate Brown Governor



Oregon Advocacy Commissions Office

"Advocating Equality and Diversity" 421 SW Oak Street, Portland, OR 97204 O 503.302.9725

Email: oaco.mail@oregon.gov

Senate Committee on Business and General Government Testimony in Support of HB 2973 April 18, 2019, 8:30 am, Hearing Room B

Chair Sen. Riley, Vice-chair Sen. Girod, Sen. Dembrow, Sen. Hass, and Sen. Olsen:

Thank you for the opportunity to speak on behalf of the Chairs and members of the Oregon Advocacy Commissions (OACs) as we approach the legislature to increase the terms of service from three to four years for the Commissions on Asian and Pacific Islander Affairs (OCAPIA), Black Affairs (OCBA), Hispanic Affairs (OCHA), and Commission for Women (OCFW). One hundred fifty of Oregon's Boards and Commissions already have four year terms of service, for a number of reasons. For the OACs, it is often the case that three years is not sufficient for many who seek service on the Advocacy Commissions to pursue their passion and accomplish the work that brought them to the Commissions. Usually the first year of service is spent learning how the OAC Commissioners do their work and fully engage, leaving only two years to work to engage with their colleague commissioners and complete the work that brought them to serve.

We believe that four years terms, as many other Boards and Commissions have found, is a better fit for busy commission members, who want to devote one term of service, and make a significant contribution to the OACs' equity work at the policy level on behalf of their communities. Two consecutive terms of service would still be an allowable option for Commissioners wishing to request a second term.

Thank you for your positive consideration and allowing me to represent my colleagues.

OR Commission on Asian and Pacific Islander Affairs

Chanpone Sinlapasai-Okamura, Chair
David Yuen Tam, Vice Chair
Legislative members:
Senator Michael Dembrow
Representative Carla Piluso

OR Commission on Black Affairs

Jamal Fox, Chair Lawanda Manning, Vice Chair Legislative members: Representative Janelle Bynum

OR Commission on Hispanic Affairs

Irma Linda Castillo, Chair Dr. Daniel López-Cevallos, Vice Chair Legislative members: Senator Sara Gelser Representative Teresa Alonso León

OR Commission for Women

Dr. Barbara Spencer, Chair Kim Olson, Vice Chair Legislative members: Senator Laurie Monnes Anderson Representative Sheri Schouten

Staff

Lucy Baker, Administrator Nancy Kramer, Executive Assistant Dr. Connie Kim-Gervey, Researcher/Policy Analyst

Sincerely,

Robin Morris Collin, Commissioner, OCFW

Iorres Volla

Irma Linda Castillo, OCHA Chair

Chanpone Sinlapasai-Okamura, OCAPIA Chair

Dr. Barbara Spencer, OCFW Chair

Jamal Fox, OCBA Chair