SCR 22 STAFF MEASURE SUMMARY

House Committee On Rules

Prepared By: Josh Nasbe, Counsel

Meeting Dates: 4/15

WHAT THE MEASURE DOES:

Recognizes the 2018 Oregon State University (OSU) Beavers baseball team for an outstanding season and congratulates Pat Casey on his remarkable 24-year career leading the OSU baseball program.

ISSUES DISCUSSED:

EFFECT OF AMENDMENT:

No amendment.

BACKGROUND:

The Oregon State University (OSU) Beavers baseball team won the National Collegiate Athletic Association Division 1 Championship on June 28, 2018. This championship was OSU's seventh trip to the College World Series (CWS), following appearances in 1952, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2013, and 2017 and back-to-back wins in 2006 and 2007. Pat Casey, the OSU baseball head coach, was named the 2018 national coach of the year, and Adley Rutschman from Sherwood, Oregon was named the CWS Most Outstanding Player. In addition, five OSU players, Adley Rutschman, Kevin Abel, Trevor Larnach, Cadyn Grenier, and Tyler Malone, were selected for the CWS All-Tournament team, six players, Trevor Larnach, Nick Madrigal, Cadyn Grenier, Steven Kwan, Drew Rasmussen, and Michael Gretler were selected in the 2018 Major League Baseball amateur draft, and 16 OSU student-athletes were selected to the Pac-12 Conference All-Academic baseball teams.

SCR 22 commends the 2018 OSU baseball team for their outstanding accomplishments and sportsmanship. The measure also honors Pat Casey for his long career coaching the OSU baseball team, congratulates him on his retirement, recognizes his service to OSU and Oregon, and expresses best wishes in his future plans.