

To: Senate Committee of Judiciary
From: Richard Donovan, Legislative Services Specialist
Re: Senate Bill 912,-1, -2
Date: April 9, 2019

Chair Prozanski, Vice Chair Thatcher, and members of the committee:

On behalf of OSBA membership, including 197 school districts, 19 Education Service Districts, and 17 community colleges throughout the state of Oregon, thank you for the opportunity to testify concerns regarding SB 912, including the base bill and the modifications as proposed by the -1 and -2 amendments.

SB 912 and amendments would modify existing mandatory reporting law under ORS 339.388, as well as create a new civil cause of action against school employees around allegations of inappropriate sexual conduct. The -2 amendments would include conduct both by one student towards another, as well as conduct by an employee towards a student.

Sexual misconduct has no place in any of Oregon's schools. Our students, parents, and guardians have the right and expectation to know that schools are safe.

OSBA is committed to student safety and has been working for over a year with several other education stakeholder groups and legislators on SB 155. That bill would make sweeping improvements to reporting, abuse, and sexual misconduct in schools.

SB 912 and SB 155 would modify many of the same sections of law. It is unclear how those bills would interact. And it is not clear that the education community, which has invested a year into SB 155, has had meaningful opportunity to consider the proposed changes by SB 912, especially the -2 amendments, which were made public less than one day ago.

OSBA remains committed to goal student safety, including specifically making sure that school districts, parents, teachers, and students the tools to eradicate inappropriate sexual conduct from our schools. SB 912 may not be the best way to approach that goal.

## OFFICERS

President Tass Morrison North Santiam SD

President-elect Kevin Cassidy Baker SD

Vice President Scott Rogers Athena-Weston SD

Secretary-Treasurer Maureen Wolf Tigard-Tualatin SD

Past President LeeAnn Larsen Beaverton SD

DIRECTORS

Paul Anthony Portland PS

Jackie Crook South Coast ESD

Terry Deacon Linn Benton Lincoln ESD Sherry Duerst-Higgins Lane ESD/South Lane SD

Bill Graupp Oregon School Board Members of Color Caucus

Liz Hartman Lake Oswego SD

Kris Howatt Gresham-Barlow SD

**Greg Kintz** Vernonia SD

Melissa LaCrosse Jefferson SD

Erika Lopez Hillsboro SD

Patti Norris Crook County SD

Brandy Penner Newberg SD

Craig Prewitt Phoenix-Talent SD

Betty Reynolds West Linn-Wilsonville SD

Lori Theros Klamath Falls City Schools Michelle Vo

Corbett SD

**EX-OFFICIO DIRECTORS** 

COSA/OASE Craig Hawkins OAESD Bob Moore State Board of Education Anthony Veliz

EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR Jim Green

DEPUTY EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR Mary Paulson