# SB 497 -1, -2 STAFF MEASURE SUMMARY

# **Senate Committee On Education**

**Prepared By:** Tamara Dykeman, LPRO Analyst

Meeting Dates: 2/13, 4/3

## WHAT THE MEASURE DOES:

Reduces the minimum grade point average (GPA) required for an Oregon Promise grant from a 2.5 to 2.0 cumulative GPA. Permits recipients to enroll for less than half-time if they work more than 30 hours a week. Applies to students applying for Oregon Promise on or after the effective date of the act.

#### **ISSUES DISCUSSED:**

- Extension of eligibility
- · Impact on current recipients
- Cost of attending college
- College students and working
- History of Oregon Promise
- First-generation college students
- Federal grants
- Pell Grants
- Wrap-around services
- Implementation dates

### **EFFECT OF AMENDMENT:**

- -1 First applies to students applying for an Oregon Promise program grant for the 2020-2021 academic year, instead of applying on or after the effective date of the act.
- -2 Removes provisions that permit recipients to enroll for less than half-time if they work more than 30 hours a week.

### **BACKGROUND:**

In 2015, the legislature created the Oregon Promise program to provide state grants to cover the cost of community college tuition. To qualify, Oregon students must be recent Oregon high school or GED graduates, earn a cumulative grade point average (GPA) of at least 2.5, and enroll at an Oregon community college within 6 months of graduation. To maintain eligibility, students must remain continuously enrolled for at least six credits each term, complete a first-year college experience requirement, and make satisfactory academic progress. In 2016-2017, Oregon had 35,380 high school graduates. Among these graduates, 45 percent applied for the Oregon Promise, 31 percent completed the application and met requirements, and 16 percent accepted the award.