

## 1201 Court Street NE, Suite 400, Salem, OR 97301 503-588-2800 | 800-578-6722 | Fax 503-588-2813 | www.osba.org

To: House Committee on Education

From: Richard Donovan, Legislative Services Specialist

Re: House Bill 2326 Date: March 18, 2019

Chair Doherty, Vice Chairs Alonso Leon and Helt, and members of the House Committee on Education,

On behalf of OSBA membership, including 197 school districts, 19 Education Service Districts, and 17 community colleges throughout the state of Oregon, thank you for the opportunity to testify in support of House Bill 2326.

A great number of Oregon laws direct student transportation, including transportation for school events that is outside of the standing bus schedule for the instructional day. This type of transportation is commonly called "activity bus" transportation, and includes items such as transport for field trips during the school day, athletics, and other afterschool activity.

In 2018, the legislature passed HB 4130. The measure established a matching grant fund for school district use to offset activity bus costs. The measure allowed up to a dollar-for-dollar match, and allocated \$250,000 to fund that match. OSBA was happy to support the passage of HB 4130. Since that time, stakeholder groups have worked with the Department of Education and State Board of Education to adopt a sophisticated set of rules for this grant program.

HB 2326 is the next step. It would a provide \$2.5 million allocation to the fund, providing badly needed funds to encourage school districts to run more busses. At that level of funding, OSBA anticipates that the majority of school districts in Oregon could receive some funding, with particular benefit to the small and rural school districts. Please support the passage of HB 2326.

## **OFFICERS**

President Tass Morrison North Santiam SD

President-elect Kevin Cassidy Baker SD

Vice President Scott Rogers Athena-Weston SD

Secretary-Treasurer Maureen Wolf Tigard-Tualatin SD

Past President LeeAnn Larsen Beaverton SD

## **DIRECTORS**

Paul Anthony

Jackie Crook South Coast ESD

Terry Deacon Linn Benton Lincoln ESD

Sherry Duerst-Higgins Lane ESD/South Lane SD

Bill Graupp Oregon School Board Members of Color Caucus

Members of Color Co Liz Hartman Lake Oswego SD

Kris Howatt Gresham-Barlow SD

Greg Kintz

Melissa LaCrosse Jefferson SD

Erika Lopez Hillsboro SD

Patti Norris Crook County SD

Brandy Penner

Craig Prewitt
Phoenix-Talent SD

Betty Reynolds
West Linn-Wilsonville SD

Lori Theros Klamath Falls City Schools

Michelle Vo

## **EX-OFFICIO DIRECTORS**

COSA/OASE Craig Hawkins

OAESD Bob Moore

State Board of Education Anthony Veliz

EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR

Jim Green

DEPUTY EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR

**Mary Paulson**