

# Oregon's Road Usage Charge Program

#### **Key facts**

- OR*eGO* is the nation's first and only fully-operational, per-mile charging system. It is currently limited to 5,000 vehicles and is voluntary with no sunset date.
- ODOT successfully launched OR*eGO* July 1, 2015. The system is functioning effectively with more than 1,500 vehicles enrolled to date and 675 currently active vehicles. ODOT continues to welcome new volunteers.
- Participants pay for miles they drive instead of gallons of fuel consumed, creating a fair and sustainable way to fund roads.
- ODOT contracts with companies that serve as account managers who maintain OR*eGO* driver accounts, calculate charges plus any credits due, and submit charges to the Oregon Treasury.

# About road usage charging

Funding for transportation has not kept pace with needs in Oregon and around the country since the 1990s. Drivers of fuel efficient vehicles are purchasing less gas, thus paying less in gas taxes which go toward maintaining and building roads and highways.

The Oregon Legislature recognized this trend in 2001 when it established the Road User Fee Task Force to investigate it. Since then, with task force guidance, Oregon has accomplished more than any other state in advancing and implementing the road usage charge concept.

# What is OReGO?

Oregon's fully operational road usage charge program, OReGO, launched July 1, 2015. Privatesector account managers provide the devices, manage the accounts, and report and pay the tax to ODOT.

Drivers have enrolled more than 1,500 vehicles, using both low- and high-tech options. ODOT has been working effectively with private sector partners to provide account management services, and can even run an ODOT agency account management service for drivers who want that choice. Simply put, we have proven the technology and the concept, that road usage charging could serve as an alternative to the gas tax.



## How does the system work?

A mileage reporting device — chosen by the driver and plugged into the car's data port — sends mileage and fuel consumption data to the selected account manager. Volunteers are charged 1.7 cents per mile driven and credited 34 cents in fuels tax per gallon. Drivers pay the net difference (or receive a credit). <u>Find out what you would pay here</u>.

## Learn more

<u>"Oregon's Road Usage Charge: The OReGO Program</u> <u>Final Report,"</u> details how Oregon successfully executed a fully operational per-mile charging system.

#### Road User Fee Task Force

RUC West

Sign up to volunteer or explore the program at myOReGO.org.

For more information, contact Michelle Godfrey, <u>michelle.d.godfrey@odot.state.or.us</u>, (503) 986-3903



