

February 25, 2019

Honorable Betsy Johnson, Co-Chair Honorable Elizabeth Steiner Hayward, Co-Chair Honorable Dan Rayfield, Co-Chair Joint Committee on Ways & Means H-178 State Capitol Salem, OR 97301

Dear Senators Johnson, Steiner Hayward and Representative Rayfield:

As you know, the Oregon State University Statewide Public Service Programs – the Agricultural Experiment Station, Extension Service, and Forest Research Laboratory – provide state-of-the-art research and outreach in all 36 counties in Oregon. Known as "The OSU Statewides," these programs apply expertise and advice generated by scientists and extension agents to real-world problems such as

pollinator health, pesticides management, water quality and quantity, access to high-quality and nutritional food, and many other environmental quality, health and economic development issues facing Oregonians across the state.

Over the last decade, these programs have faced a series of budget proposals that would close facilities and reduce personnel. And over this period, as a result of assistance and leadership from the legislature, these programs have largely benefitted from legislative funding that has filled the holes, and in 2015 enabled some modest new programs. Unfortunately the Governor's proposal for the 2019-21 biennium includes no increased funding for the OSU Statewides even though OSU figures indicate that statemandated costs are increasing at 8 percent.

We deeply appreciate the support you and your colleagues have provided over the years. You know how the Statewides can help the entire state overcome the vexing challenge of bridging the economic divide between urban and rural Oregon.

With the help and support of a wide variety of interest groups and stakeholders, the OSU Board of Trustees developed and approved a comprehensive proposal to add \$30 million in new and recovery programs aimed at making continued progress toward economic prosperity in every corner of the state. The attached information sheet provides detailed information about how these programs will continue to contribute to Oregon's economic, environmental, and social vitality.

The \$30 million package for the OSU Statewides is incorporated in SB 257 and would be added to the 2017-19 legislatively approved budget of \$124.4 million. While a number of possible mechanisms may be available to the Ways &and Means Committee for financing the Statewides, our primary concern in writing to you is to ensure that the \$30 million package is fully funded to provide increases of \$16 million for the Agricultural Experiment Station, \$11.5 million for the Extension Service, and \$2.5 million for the Forest Research Laboratory.

We look forward to working with you in the coming weeks and months to make meaningful progress in a bi-partisan, bi-cameral approach that addresses the needs of urban and rural Oregonians.

Sincerely,

Ann Gosch, President Blake Rowe, Chief Executive Officer **4-H Foundation Oregon Wheat Growers** Anne Maloney, Secretary Charles Ortiz, President Klamath-Lake Forest Health Partnership Willamette Valley Specialty Seed Association April Snell, Executive Director Chris Schreimer, Executive Director **Oregon Water Resources Congress Oregon Tilth Bill Brewer, President & CEO** Dawsen Koos, Chairman **Oregon Potato Commission Oregon Clover Commission** 

Doug Maag, Chairman Oregon Beef Council

Eric C. Hunter, President & CEO CareOregon

Greg Block, President Sustainable Northwest

Greg Younger, President Oregon Dairy Industries

Heather Jefferis, Executive Director Oregon Council for Behavioral Health

Helle Ruddenklau, President Oregon Women for Agriculture

Ivan Maluski, Policy Director Friends of Family Farmers

Jake Stockfleth, President **Oregon Seed Association** 

Jason Hunton, President Oregon Seed League

Jeff Stone, Executive Director **Oregon Association of Nurseries** 

Jeremy Barnicle, Executive Director **Ecotrust** 

Jerome Rosa, Executive Director Oregon Cattlemen's Association Jim Desmond, Director The Nature Conservancy

Jim Fitzgerald, Executive Director Far West Agribusiness Association

Jim Geisinger, Executive Vice President Association of Oregon Loggers

Jim James, Executive Director Oregon Small Woodlands Association

Juli Jones, Assistant Manager Nut Growers Society of Oregon

Karen Lewotsky, Rural Partnerships Director Oregon Environmental Council

Katie Fast, Executive Director Oregonians for Food & Shelter

Kelly Crane, Executive Director Oregon Farmers Markets Association

Lillian Shirley, Director of Public Health **Oregon Health Authority** 

Mark Hagman, Chairman Oregon Mint Commission

Martha Schrader, President Association of Oregon Counties

Mary Anne Cooper, Vice President Oregon Farm Bureau Megan Kemple, Director Oregon Farm to School Network

Meredith Nagely, Manager Oregon Hazelnut Commission

Mike Doke, Executive Director Columbia Gorge Fruit Growers

Rex Storm, Chair Oregon Tree Farm System Shawn Fels, President Oregon Cheese Guild

Spencer Masterson, State Network Manager Oregon Food Bank

Stuart O'Neill, Executive Director Rogue Farm Corps

Tami Kerr, Executive Director Oregon Dairy Farmer's Association

Roger Beyer, Executive Director Oregon Seed Council

Ryan Burge, President Oregon Institute of Food Technologists Oregon Essential Oil Growers

Tim Butler, Chair

Tim Danowski, Executive Director **Oregon Winegrower's Association** 

Zach Krahmer, Chairman Oregon Blueberry Commission