HB 2076 STAFF MEASURE SUMMARY

House Committee On Natural Resources

Prepared By: Kailey Kornhauser, LPRO Analyst

Meeting Dates: 1/29, 1/31

WHAT THE MEASURE DOES:

Requires person to remove or open device to drain water from a boat removed from state waters before transporting the boat within the state. Punishes failure to remove or open device with a maximum fine of \$250. Exempts marine sanitation devices, persons involved in specific fishing activities approved by Oregon statute, and boats operated by peace officers or emergency responders.

Authorizes specified state agencies to order the decontamination of any recreational or commercial watercraft that is inspected at a check station. Failure to cooperate is punishable by \$250. Requires boat operator to cooperate with ordered decontamination process at check station. Punishes failure to cooperate with maximum fine of \$250. Authorizes peace officer to stop persons transporting commercial or recreational watercraft and order return to aquatic invasive species check station if the peace officer has probable cause and there is an open check station within five miles of the stop. Punishes failure to comply with peace officer with a maximum of 30 days' imprisonment, \$1,250 fine, or both.

Establishes that the Aquatic Invasive Species Fund may consist of invasive species permit fees, money from state and federal agencies or local governments, appropriated funds, gifts, grants, or contributions from any source. Establishes that this fund may be used for costs associated with the aquatic invasive species prevention permit program, to award grants, and related purposes of the board.

Establishes that bonded agents whom issue temporary boat operating permits may charge a fee prescribed by the board. Fee will change every three years based on the U.S. City Average Consumer Price Index for All Urban Consumers.

Clarifies and defines "nonmotorized boat" as related to sailboats.

ISSUES DISCUSSED:

EFFECT OF AMENDMENT:

No amendment.

BACKGROUND:

In 2009, the Oregon legislature enacted House Bill 2583 or the "Clean Launch Law," which requires that a person may not launch a boat into the waters of this state if the boat has aquatic invasive species on its exterior or within its bilge, livewell, motorwell, or other interior locations. Oregon law does not require boaters to drain standing water from a boat removed from waters of the state. Currently, law enforcement officers lack authority to require boaters to return for invasive species inspection but can issue a citation. In 2009, the Oregon legislature enacted House Bill 2220 establishing the Aquatic Invasive Species Prevention Fund and specifying that funds are continuously appropriated to the State Marine Board for the purpose of administering the aquatic invasive species prevention permit program. Current law does not explicitly allow the Aquatic Invasive Species Fund to

HB 2076 STAFF MEASURE SUMMARY

receive grants, gifts, or other funds appropriated by the legislature.

House Bill 2076 requires boat operators to drain water from a boat before transporting within the state, authorizes peace officers to require someone who is transporting a boat to stop at an aquatic invasive species check station, and allows for additional sources of funding for the Aquatic Invasive Species Fund.