

The League of Women Voters of Oregon is a 99-year-old grassroots nonpartisan political organization that encourages informed and active participation in government. We envision informed Oregonian's participating in a fully accessible, responsive, and transparent government to achieve the common good. LWVOR Legislative Action is based on advocacy positions formed through studies and member consensus. The League never supports or opposes any candidate or political party.

January 25, 2019

To: House Committee on Rules

Representative Paul Holvey, Chair

HCR 8 In memoriam: Mary Katherine "Kappy" Eaton, 1924-2018 – Support Re:

We encourage you to review House Commemorative Resolution 8 for the information we researched and collected on Kappy Eaton. This represents distillation from decades of League of Women Voters of Oregon files, also from AAUW, Common Cause, and the University of Oregon. We respect this committee's time and will not repeat it here, encourage you to review how extensive her work was, in Oregon, nationally, and globally. We are approaching the 100th Anniversary of the founding of the League of Women Voters in Oregon. Of course Kappy had not been in the League that long but in comparing notes. we discovered that she joined the League the year I was born.



Kappy was exceptional. She inspired many, mentoring by her spirited, outspoken example. I "shadowed" her in 2013 for her role as League Governance Coordinator. Everyone seemed to know and respect her as a League face in the Capitol. One legislator she introduced me to informed me as he looked at her, that discourse in hearings seemed more civil with League observers present. Kappy was a League leader with many roles and one of a small, elite number of League advocates in our Capitol for a long time.

I encourage you to support this resolution. Cast a vote to honor Kappy and salute the work she held dear, League efforts for informed and active participation in government.

Thank you for the opportunity to discuss this legislation.

Janan Luvill

Norman Turrill

LWVOR President

Rebecca Gladstone

LWVOR Governance Coordinator

epera L. Hadstone