

MEMORANDUM

Prepared for: Oregon State Senate

Date: May 28, 2020

By: Tyler Larson, Analyst

Re: Legislative Review of Executive

Appointments

LPRO: LEGISLATIVE POLICY AND RESEARCH OFFICE

COMMISSION ON BLACK AFFAIRS

The Governor has appointed the following individual to the Commission on Black Affairs subject to Senate confirmation.¹

Appointees

Lawanda Joyce Manning of Eugene; Reappointment

Term

June 1, 2020 - May 31, 2024

Appointment/Confirmation Authority

ORS 185.420 (2019)

Statement of Economic Interest²

Not required.

Statutory Requirements³

The commission is comprised of 11 members:4

- one senator appointed by the President of the Senate;
- one representative appointed by the Speaker of the House of Representatives (LAWRENCE SPENCE); and
- nine members appointed by the Governor and confirmed by the Senate (ADDAE, DOGO, DUNCAN, FOX, GARY-SMITH, MANNING, OLOL).

All members must be Oregon residents. Gubernatorial appointees serve four-year terms; legislators serve two-year terms. Commission members must elect a chairperson and vice chairperson. A majority of members constitutes a quorum for the transaction of business. Appointments must be made to ensure representation of black persons in Oregon.

¹ See Or. Const. art. III sect. 4, ORS 171.562 (2019), ORS 171.565 (2019).

² See ORS 244.050 (2019).

³ See ORS 182.100 (2019) for affirmative action policy and ORS 236.115 (2019) for diversity criteria.

⁴ ORS 185.420 (2019).

Duties and Authority

The commission was created to work for the implementation and establishment of economic, social, legal, and political equality for black persons in Oregon.⁵

The commission must:6

- monitor existing programs and legislation designed to meet the needs of Oregon's black population;
- identify and research problem areas and issues affecting the black community and recommend actions to the Governor and the Legislative Assembly, including recommendations on legislative programs;
- maintain a liaison between the black community and government entities;
- · encourage black representation on state boards and commissions; and
- meet at least annually in a joint meeting with other commissions to consider and act upon issues of mutual importance.

June 2, 2020 Page | 2

⁵ ORS 185.410 (2019).

⁶ ORS 185.430 (2019).

Executive Appointments Board Roster

Black Affairs, Commission on

Agency: None

Authorization: ORS 185.420

Members: Min: 11 Max: 11

Term Length: 4 years Limit: 2

Term Length: 4 years Limit: 2 Senate confirmation required? Yes Policy Area: Diversity & Inclusion

Board Contact:

Lucy Baker

Oregon Advocacy Commissions

Office

421 SW Oak Street, Suite 770

Portland, OR 97204 503-250-2698 Fax: 503-473-8519 Lucy.BAKER@oregon.gov nancy.kramer@state.or.us

Current Appointments:

Member Name and Address (Alphabetical)

Angela E Addae

Term(s): 03-15-2019 - 03-14-2022

05-25-2018 - 03-14-2019

Position Number: 3

Janelle Bynum

House Speaker's Appointment

Term(s):

Position Number: 10

Djimet Dogo

Term(s): 06-01-2018 - 05-30-2021

Position Number: 2

Ben Duncan

Term(s): 03-15-2019 - 03-14-2022

03-01-2019 - 03-14-2019

Position Number: 6

Jamal T Fox, MPA

Term(s): 06-01-2018 - 05-31-2021

02-14-2018 - 05-31-2018

Position Number: 4

Mariotta P Gary-Smith

Term(s): 06-01-2019 - 05-30-2022

06-01-2016 - 05-31-2019

Position Number: 9

Lawanda J Manning

Term(s): 06-01-2020 - 05-31-2024

06-01-2017 - 05-31-2020

Position Number: 7

Printed Date: 5/17/2020 Page 1 of 2

Executive Appointments Board Roster

Black Affairs, Commission on

Member Name and Address (Alphabetical)

Lawanda J Manning

Term(s): 06-01-2020 - 05-31-2024

06-01-2017 - 05-31-2020

Position Number: 7

Policy Area: Diversity & Inclusion

Musse A Olol, Vice-Chair

Term(s): 09-19-2017 - 09-18-2020

09-19-2014 - 09-18-2017

Position Number: 8

Vacant Appointments:

Pos	Member	Appointed By	Term Begin	Term End
1	Kayse M Jama	Governor	03/15/2016	03/14/2019
1	Kayse M Jama	Governor	03/15/2013	03/14/2016
1	Clifford C Walker	Governor	10/01/2010	09/30/2013
1	Clifford C Walker	Governor	10/01/2007	09/30/2010
1	Dora Asana	Governor	10/01/2002	09/30/2005
1	Dora Asana	Governor	10/01/1999	09/30/2002
1	Rance C Spruill	Governor	11/01/1997	10/31/2000
1	Rance C Spruill	Governor	09/10/1996	10/31/1997
1	John A Cowley	Governor	11/01/1994	10/31/1997
	Chair			
Pos	Member	Appointed By	Term Begin	Term End
5	Tom Hartung	Senate Republican Leader		
	Senate President's Appointment			
5	Verne A Duncan	Senate President		
5	Alan C Bates	Senate Republican Leader		
	Senate President's Appointment			
5	Rod W Monroe	Senate President		
5	Rod W Monroe	Senate President		
	Senate President's Appointment			
Pos	Member	Appointed By	Term Begin	Term End
11	L Nicole Rowe	Governor	06/01/2017	05/31/2020
11	Julie G Grey	Governor	06/05/2013	05/31/2016
11	Lorraine M Wilson	Governor	06/01/2010	05/31/2013
11	Everette L Rice	Governor	02/01/2007	01/31/2010
11	Everette L Rice	Governor	02/01/2004	01/31/2007
11	Corliss A McKeever	Governor	10/01/1999	09/30/2002
11	AJ Talley	Governor	11/20/1995	11/19/1998

Printed Date: 5/17/2020 Page 2 of 2