Testimony to Joint Interim Committee on the First
Special Session of 2020, June 22, 2020

Chairs Kotek and Courtney, members of the joint
Committee, thank you for allowing me to testify in favor
of LC 45, the eviction moratorium bill.

My name is John VanLandingham. | work as a lawyer for
the Oregon Law Center, based in Lane County.

| have represented low income tenants on residential L/T
issues for 43 years. | have negotiated and drafted L/T
legislation in the Oregon legislature for almost 30 years.

| would be happy to answer questions regarding the
details of either LC 45 or LC 90. | have been involved in
the drafting.

For now, let me make a few points.



First, LC 45 and LC 90 are identical, except that the grace
period in LC 45 is 180 days versus 90 days.

The grace period is a period after the eviction
moratorium ends when the tenant must pay currently
due rent but has that grace period to catch up on the
arrears.

Second, | want to make sure that the language in Section
4 of both about 270 days doesn’t confuse you. This is
how LC drafted it. It consists of 90 days for the extended
eviction moratorium plus 180 days for the grace period.

Finally, there are four amendments for LC 45 that are
coming:

1. The Governor’s eviction moratorium will be extended
90 days, from June 30 to September 30. The extension
will not be tied to the Governor’s state of emergency
declaration, which might be extended. This is in Section
4. We do not expect her eviction moratorium order to be



extended. To be clear, the eviction moratorium will only
be extended 90 days.

2. Making the eviction moratorium in LC 45 consistent
with the Governor’s moratorium, with reference to ORS
90.427 and which types of terminations are prevented by
the moratorium.

3. That statute allows a landlord to use a no-cause
termination notice during the first year of a tenancy. The
amendment will extend that trial period by 30 days
following the eviction moratorium for tenancies where
the first year occurs during the moratorium. Fairness
issue.

4. Allow a landlord to require a tenant to notify the
landlord if the tenant intends to rely on the grace period,
after the eviction moratorium ends.
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