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With some changes, Oregon’s Unemployment Insurance (UI) program can help Oregonians 
better cope with the COVID-19 (coronavirus) pandemic. The virus and efforts to contain it 
threaten to disrupt the workplace. Quarantines, layoffs, and other upheavals put at risk the 
economic well-being of working families, especially those living paycheck-to-paycheck. By 
making appropriate changes to its UI program, Oregon can help workers and businesses 
weather this health emergency. 
 
This is not to suggest that changes to UI alone will suffice during this emergency. State 
policymakers also need to discuss strengthening paid sick leave and other worker supports. But 
it is clear that certain amendments to UI would help protect Oregonians in this time of crisis.  
 
The recommendations below are largely supported by the U.S. Department of Labor’s new 
guidance for making state UI programs responsive to the needs of workers during the crisis.1  
 
Allow UI for quarantined workers 

 
Unemployment Insurance could help replace lost earnings for workers affected by a quarantine 
when Oregon’s sick leave laws are insufficient.  
 
Nearly all Oregon employers are required to offer unpaid sick leave, and many are also required 
to offer that leave as paid sick leave.2 Paid sick leave is particularly important now because it 
provides economic security for workers who need to stop working when they are quarantined, 
fall ill, or need to care for a sick family member.  
 
Unfortunately, Oregon’s paid sick leave cannot adequately address the crisis at hand. This 
important protection does not cover all workers. Smaller employers — those in the Portland area 
with fewer than six workers and those elsewhere with fewer than 10 — are not subject to the paid 
sick leave law. Additionally, Oregon’s law guarantees employees can accrue only 40 hours of 
paid sick leave each year, the equivalent of five days of full-time work. Yet, health experts 
indicate that 14 days is a reasonable quarantine period in response to COVID-19.3 So, the state’s 
paid sick days law is inadequate for the current emergency even for workers covered by it.  
 
Oregon’s UI system could fill one of these gaps. Oregon should extend UI benefits to workers 
who are quarantined and lack paid sick leave or have insufficient paid sick time to cover the 
quarantine period. Providing UI for quarantined workers experiencing loss of earnings would 
help them and their families weather the isolation period, as well as support compliance.  
 
Allow UI for workers caring for family members 

 
Oregon’s Unemployment Insurance program can also help workers in other circumstances and 
who don’t receive paid sick leave or enough paid leave to meet their needs. Workers impacted by 



Changes to Unemployment Insurance Would Help Oregon Cope with COVID-19 

 

   

2 
 

March 16, 2020 

 
 

the emergency may need to leave work to care for sick family members or children whose school 
has closed. Oregon should extend UI benefits to workers in these circumstances as well.   

 
 
Waive charges to employers during the emergency 

 
During this pandemic, Oregon should waive UI tax increases for employers. Oregon businesses 
who lay off workers will likely end up paying higher UI tax rates, because a company’s rate is 
tied to how much its employees use the UI system. Waiving UI rate increases during this health 
emergency would support impacted businesses and encourage sound decision-making with 
regard to the real possibility that workers may need to quarantine themselves. 
  
Waive the one-week waiting period 

 
Oregon should do away with the practice of making workers wait at least one week before 
receiving UI benefits. Under current law, the state pays no UI benefits for the first week a 
worker meets all the eligibility requirements.4 The “waiting week” is an outdated practice and, in 
normal times, serves no purpose in helping workers cope with a layoff and get back to work.5 
Due to the time it can take to learn about UI and apply, workers and their families can go 
without income for several weeks, undermining family stability. The waiting week will make it 
harder for some households experiencing COVID-19-related layoffs or quarantines to meet basic 
needs. Oregon should permanently eliminate the one-week waiting period, as many states have 
done.6 
 
Waive work search requirements   

 
During the emergency, Oregon should suspend the requirement that workers search for work. 
Presently, unless workers are temporarily laid off and expect to return to their job soon, they are 
required to look for work to receive UI benefits.7 Searching for a job during the pandemic could 
put workers’ health in jeopardy, particularly those with lower incomes. While some job search 
happens online, it often takes place in person, particularly for lower-wage work. Workers with 
low incomes are more likely to rely on public transportation to look for work, use of which 
during the pandemic may be ill-advised for some. In addition, lower-income workers are more 
likely to access the internet in public settings and through public computers, where exposure to 
contagion is more likely. Further, access to computers may be difficult due to closure of libraries 
and other public computer sites. Therefore, during the period of emergency, Oregon should 
suspend the rule requiring workers to search for work in order to receive UI benefits.8  
 
 

The crisis also demands improvements to Oregon’s paid sick leave law  

While unemployment insurance can fill some of the gaps in Oregon’s paid sick leave law for 

workers impacted by the pandemic, some of the challenges posed by the COVID-19 crisis are 

best addressed through a more robust sick leave law. For example, sick leave should be 

expanded to provide an adequate number of hours for workers who fall ill. Further, the paid 

leave law should be expanded to cover all Oregon workers, including those working for 

smaller companies, working in gig industries or are otherwise self-employed.    
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Clarify “good cause” to quit a job 

 
Oregon should clarify that workers have a “good cause” to quit a job in a number of outbreak-
related circumstances. In general, workers are not eligible for UI if they quit a job without “good 
cause.”9 In the current crisis, Oregon should recognize that workers have good cause to quit if 
they are forced to perform work that jeopardizes their health. Workers should also be deemed to 
have good cause if they need to stop working to take care of family members — a quarantined or 
sick relative, or a child whose school has closed.  
 
A good cause provision for workers needing to care for a quarantined or sick family member 
could be critical for workers without paid sick leave and in circumstances requiring extended 
home care. While Oregon’s groundbreaking Paid Family and Medical Leave law could help in 
the future, benefits will not be available until 2023.10 
 
Promote Oregon’s UI “work share” option 

 
Oregon’s Work Share program could help workers and employers weather a pandemic-related 
downturn — if they know about it. Work Share gives an alternative to laying off workers for 
employers needing to reduce staff.11 Under the program, instead of laying off individuals, an 
employer reduces the hours of a group of workers. Partial UI benefits are then paid to 
supplement the workers’ reduced earnings. This arrangement helps workers by keeping them 
employed, and allows employers to retain talent until business conditions improve. Employers 
will not take this option unless they know it is available. To protect workers and businesses 
facing economic hardship in the days ahead, Oregon should take additional steps to promote 
Oregon’s Work Share program.  
 
Conclusion   

 
While the COVID-19 poses serious risks to Oregonians, the state can ease some of the financial 
strain experienced by families and businesses during the pandemic by making certain changes 
to its UI program. Oregon should improve its Unemployment Insurance program through 
administrative action where possible, and through a special session of the Oregon legislature 
where statutory changes are required. 
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