## **Enrolled**

## **House Concurrent Resolution 206**

Introduced and printed pursuant to House Rule 12.00. Presession filed (at the request of House Interim Committee on Rules for Oregon State University)

Whereas the United States Congress adopted the Morrill Act, which President Abraham Lincoln signed into law on July 2, 1862, allowing each state to establish a public higher education institution that would be supported in part by a grant of federal lands; and

Whereas the State of Oregon between 1863 and 1868 took steps to identify public lands and designate an appropriate higher education institution; and

Whereas on August 22, 1868, articles of incorporation were filed for Corvallis College and on October 27, 1868, now known as Oregon State University Charter Day, the college was officially chartered; and

Whereas upon the effective date of the charter, the Legislative Assembly of the State of Oregon directed that Corvallis College be designated the state's agricultural college and provide teaching in agriculture, engineering and military tactics; and

Whereas in 1870 the first graduating class included three students—two men and one woman—and Corvallis College became the "people's school" of Oregon; and

Whereas 150 years after being chartered, Oregon State University serves as Oregon's statewide university and provides access to high quality higher education for all Oregonians; and

Whereas the physical expansion of Corvallis College began in 1887 and in the fall of 1889 the college moved to the present site of Oregon State University's 530-acre campus in Corvallis; and

Whereas since completion of its first building, Oregon State University now operates from its Corvallis campus, the OSU-Cascades campus in Bend, the Hatfield Marine Science Center in Newport, forest research laboratories and 14 agricultural experiment stations; and

Whereas Oregon State University continues its original land grant mission through Oregon State University Extension Service offices and programs in each of Oregon's 36 counties; and

Whereas Corvallis College later became State Agricultural College and had several other name changes before becoming Oregon State College in 1937 and, finally, Oregon State University in 1961; and

Whereas Oregon State University is now Oregon's largest university with more than 31,500 enrolled students, of whom each year approximately two-thirds are Oregon resident undergraduates; and

Whereas Oregon State University enhances a healthy planet, healthy people and healthy economy through teaching, research and statewide outreach and public services of the Oregon State University Extension Service and 4-H Youth Development Program; and

Whereas in fiscal year 2017, Oregon State University received \$441 million in annual funding from state and federal governments, businesses and foundations for research on a wide range of projects in natural resources, health, engineering and science across the state and around the world; and

Whereas research at Oregon State University enables lifesaving health discoveries, environmental enhancement, pioneering innovations that create jobs, discoveries that unlock the mysteries of our oceans and learning that promotes safety and fosters knowledge to manage the impacts of issues such as hunger, climate change and wildfires; and

Whereas faculty members at Oregon State University have educated generations of students, made vital scientific discoveries, created renowned works of literature and art and been awarded

the Nobel Prize, the National Medal of Science, the MacArthur Fellowship and countless other honors; and

Whereas Oregon State University is committed to inclusive excellence and more than 23 percent of its enrollment is made up by students underrepresented in the United States, 11.5 percent by international students, 23 percent by first-generation college students and three percent by veterans of the Armed Forces of the United States; and

Whereas Oregon State University's student athletes have won many conference and national championships, served as leaders and role models on campus and in the community and inspired millions of fans who are proud members of Beaver Nation; and

Whereas graduates of Oregon State University have become leaders in Oregon and throughout the nation and the world in business, government, academia, the military, science, medicine, the arts and every other field of human endeavor; and

Whereas the Oregon State University Alma Mater Song, "Carry Me Back," composed in 1919 by W. Homer Maris, includes lyrics that still resonate with alumni nearly a century later: "Carry me back to OSU, Back to her vine-clad halls; Thus fondly ever in my mem'ry, Alma Mater calls"; and

Whereas Oregon State University now serves Oregon, the nation and the world through the teaching and research of 11 colleges—Agricultural Sciences, Business, Education, Engineering, Forestry, Liberal Arts, Pharmacy, Public Health and Human Sciences, Science, Veterinary Medicine and Earth, Ocean and Atmospheric Sciences—as well as the Honors College and Graduate School; and

Whereas Oregon State University has one of the nation's top online learning programs and offers more than 45 undergraduate and graduate degrees to students; and

Whereas Oregon State University is one of only two universities in the United States that have been honored with land, sea, space and sun grant designations; and

Whereas Oregon State University's statewide annual economic impact totals more than \$2.2 billion; and

Whereas Oregon State University officially recognizes its 150th anniversary as Oregon's state-wide university on October 27, 2018; now, therefore,

## Be It Resolved by the Legislative Assembly of the State of Oregon:

That we, the members of the Seventy-ninth Legislative Assembly, acknowledge the 150th anniversary of Oregon State University and congratulate Oregon State University, more than 170,000 OSU alumni and all Oregonians on this significant public milestone of service, leadership and contributions to the State of Oregon. Go Beavs!

Adopted by House February 15, 2018
Timothy G. Sekerak, Chief Clerk of House
Tina Kotek, Speaker of House
Adopted by Senate February 26, 2018
Peter Courtney President of Senate