FISCAL IMPACT OF PROPOSED LEGISLATION

79th Oregon Legislative Assembly – 2018 Regular Session Legislative Fiscal Office

Only Impacts on Original or Engrossed Versions are Considered Official

Measure: HB 4065 - 1

Prepared by: Krista Dauenhauer Reviewed by: Doug Wilson

Date: 2/8/2018

Measure Description:

Prohibits child care providers from enrolling in Central Background Registry or providing child care for five years after denial, revocation or voluntary surrender of certification or registration and for five years after denial, removal or voluntary surrender of enrollment in Central Background Registry.

Government Unit(s) Affected:

Department of Education (ODE)

Summary of Expenditure Impact:

Costs related to the measure are anticipated to be minimal - See explanatory analysis.

Summary of Revenue Impact: (Assuming April 1, 2018 Implementation)

	2017-19 Biennium	2019-21 Biennium
Other Funds - Child Care Fund ORS 329A.010	63,259	101,214
Total Funds	\$63,259	\$101,214

Analysis:

The bill provides additional enforcement capacity to the Office of Child Care, within the Oregon Department of Education, and increases civil penalties for violations by child care facilities. An existing requirement is deleted from statute which obligated that a written warning must be issued for a violation before assessing a civil penalty. A child care facility's certification or registration/renewal application may be revoked or denied if the facility fails to pay a civil penalty after the order imposing the penalty becomes final.

The Office of Child Care reports that the additional enforcement capacity provided by this bill is anticipated to have no fiscal impact. The table below outlines the current civil penalty structure and estimates revenues based on the new maximum penalty established by HB 4065-1. The Legislative Fiscal Office notes that the revenue projections assume that childcare facilities rectify violations within one day of the penalty assessment, as the new civil penalties can be assessed on a daily basis.

	Current Civil Penalty Structure				New Civil Penalty Structure				
Violation Description	Maximum Penalty	Average Quantity Per Biennium	Rev	verage enue Per ennium	Maximum Penalty	Estimated Quantity Per Biennium	Maximum Revenue Per Biennium		
Violation of ORS 329A.330*	\$100								
ORS 329A.280 non-child care center	\$200								
ORS 329A.280 child care center	\$500	4	\$	692	\$1,500	4	\$	5,520	
Registered Family Child Care Home	\$100	12	\$	1,096	\$750	12	\$	8,760	
Certified Family Child Care Home	\$200	20	\$	3,046	\$1,200	20	\$	24,384	
Certified Child Care Center	\$500	31	\$	9,615	\$2,500	31	\$	77,000	
Total			\$	14,450			\$	115,664	

^{*}Current penalty restrictions which will be deleted under HB 4065-1 include the following:

Page 1 of 2 HB 4065 - 1

- First-time violations may not exceed \$100
- Subsequent violations may not exceed the previous violation by more than \$100, with a maximum of \$500 per violation or \$1,000 total for multiple.

Page 2 of 2 HB 4065 - 1