## HB 4144 -1, -2 STAFF MEASURE SUMMARY

## **House Committee On Business and Labor**

Prepared By: Jan Nordlund, LPRO Analyst

**Meeting Dates:** 2/5, 2/7, 2/9

### WHAT THE MEASURE DOES:

Waives fee and eliminates training requirement for applicant with at least eight years of specified experience when applying for residential general or residential specialty contractor license.

Waives fee and eliminates training requirement for licensed journeyman plumber who has at least eight years of specified experience and meets qualifications when applying for original license as plumbing contractor.

Waives fee and eliminates training requirement for general journeyman electrician or higher license holder who has at least eight years of specified experience and meets qualifications when applying for original license as electrical contractor.

Allows construction contracting business owned or managed by an individual licensed under this Act to receive entrepreneurial development loan from the Oregon Business Development Department if the contractor operates outside of the Willamette Valley and agrees that 20 percent of contractor's work will be on qualified projects.

Allows construction contracting business owned or managed by an individual licensed under this Act to apply for financial support from the Strategic Reserve Fund if the contractor operates outside of the Willamette Valley; agrees that 20 percent of the contractor's work will be on qualified projects; the financial support will be used to recruit, train or retain current or recent graduates of approved apprenticeship program; and the contractor meets other requirements imposed by the Department of Higher Education Coordinating Commission.

Repeals all provisions on January 2, 2022.

#### **ISSUES DISCUSSED:**

- Concerns entrepreneurs have with access to capital and expense of licensure
- Creating a career pathway for apprentices
- Effects of Great Recession on rural Oregon
- Shortage of affordable housing

# **EFFECT OF AMENDMENT:**

- -1 (Adopted 2-7) Eliminates proposed waiver of experience requirement for plumbing contractor and electrical contractor. Specifies that issuance of licenses under this Act does not apply to renewals or to applicants who would otherwise be denied or disqualified under current statute. Specifies that issuance of license under this Act authorizes licensee to offer services only through a sole proprietorship owned by the licensee. Removes reference to Strategic Reserve Fund and instead allows Commission to make financial support available through moneys received under the federal Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act.
- -2 (Adopted 2-7) Requires CCB and BCD to report regarding licensing issued under this Act. Requires Business Oregon and HECC to report regarding loans and financial support provided under this Act. Requires these four reports to be made to the interim legislative committee related to business no later than October 1, 2020. Broadens eligibility for financial support from HECC to businesses licensed under this Act who meet the location and qualifying projects criteria and who agree to use the grant to recruit, train, and retain any new workers, not just workers in or graduates of an apprenticeship program.

## **BACKGROUND:**

This Summary has not been adopted or officially endorsed by action of the committee.

## HB 4144 -1, -2 STAFF MEASURE SUMMARY

The Construction Contractors Board (CCB) has set the fee at \$250 for residential general or speciality contractor licenses. An applicant must take a 16-hour course on law and business practices prior to being issued a license. House Bill 4144 waives the fee and training requirement for an applicant with at least eight years of training; however, the applicant must still pass a written examination. Applicants for plumbing and electrical contractor licenses through the Building Codes Division (BCD) must first have a contractor's license from the CCB. The measure, with the -1 amendment, waives the fee for a plumbing contractor or electrical contractor license for those who obtained under a CCB residential general or specialty contractor license under this Act. The BCD has set the plumbing contractor license fee at \$375 and the electrical contractor license fee at \$150.