

To: Senate Committee on EducationFrom: Richard Donovan, Oregon School Boards AssociationRe: Senate Bill 1520-1Date: February 7, 2018

Chair Roblan and members of the Senate Committee on Education:

On behalf of OSBA membership, including 197 school districts and 19 Education Service Districts throughout the state of Oregon, thank you for the opportunity to testify in support of SB 1520 and the -1 amendments.

SB 1520 contains multiple changes to statutes governing education in Oregon. OSBA generally supports these changes. They are non-controversial, technical in nature, and the changes should benefit students and school districts statewide.

One section of the base bill was requested by OSBA, and would make technical changes to ORS 336.095, which governs kindergarten program availability. Currently, that ORS reads:

(1)(a) A school district that is not a union high school district must offer half-day kindergarten and may choose to offer full-day kindergarten.

That statute requires that all school districts offer at least half-day kindergarten programs, but permits districts to offer full-day kindergarten programs instead. The proposed changes contained in SB 1520 address the concern that it is possible to read the statute as potentially requiring a district that offers a full-day kindergarten program to offer a half-day program as well. To address this concern, the bill would add a new subsection to ORS 336.095(1), that would say:

(d) Nothing in this subsection requires a school district to offer half-day kindergarten in a school where the school district offers full-day kindergarten.

This is a technical change that will add a great deal of clarity to a narrow portion of the law pertaining to school districts. I am happy to answer any questions you may have.

OFFICERS

President LeeAnn Larsen Beaverton SD

President-elect Tass Morrison North Santiam SD

Vice President Kevin Cassidy Baker SD

Secretary-Treasurer Maureen Wolf Tigard-Tualatin SD

Past President Betty Reynolds West Linn-Wilsonville SD

DIRECTORS Paul Anthony

Portland PS
Terry Deacon
Linn Benton Lincoln ESD

Sherry Duerst-Higgins Lane ESD/South Lane SD

Susan FitzGerald Yamhill-Carlton SD

Liz Hartman Lake Oswego SD

Kris Howatt Gresham-Barlow SD

Greg Kintz Vernonia SD

Melissa LaCrosse Jefferson SD

Patti Norris Crook County SD

Hank Perry Douglas ESD

Craig Prewitt Phoenix-Talent SD

Scott Rogers Athena-Weston SD

Corbett SD

Lori Theros Klamath Falls City Schools Michelle Vo

EX-OFFICIO DIRECTORS

COSA/OASE Craig Hawkins OAESD Bob Moore State Board of Education Charles Martinez, Jr.

EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR

DEPUTY EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR Mary Paulson