SB 1044-A4 (LC 4359) 5/9/17 (CDT/ps)

Requested by HOUSE COMMITTEE ON ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT AND TRADE

## PROPOSED AMENDMENTS TO A-ENGROSSED SENATE BILL 1044

- On page 1 of the printed A-engrossed bill, line 2, delete "471.162," and
- insert "471.130, 471.162, 471.292, 471.313, 471.315,".
- 3 After line 12, insert:
- 4 "SECTION 3. (1) The limitations on employment imposed by ORS
- 5 238.082 (2) and (3) do not apply to a retired member who is employed
- 6 by the Oregon Liquor Control Commission, if the retired member's
- 7 primary work duties relate to the license investigation, complaint re-
- 8 sponse or liquor law violation investigation activities of the commis-
- 9 sion.
- 10 "(2) Hours worked by a retired member described in this section
- may not be counted for the purpose of the limitations on employment
- 12 imposed by ORS 238.082 (2) and (3).
- 13 "(3) Employment under this section does not affect the status of a
- 14 person as a retired member of the Public Employees Retirement Sys-
- tem and a recipient of retirement benefits under ORS chapter 238.
- "SECTION 4. Section 3 of this 2017 Act is repealed July 1, 2019.".
- In line 13, delete "3" and insert "5".
- On page 3, line 38, delete "4" and insert "6".
- On page 4, after line 31, insert:
- "SECTION 7. ORS 471.130 is amended to read:
- 21 "471.130. (1) All licensees and permittees of the Oregon Liquor Control

- 1 Commission, before selling or serving alcoholic liquor to any person about
- 2 whom there is any reasonable doubt of the person's having reached 21 years
- 3 of age, shall require such person to produce one of the following pieces of
- 4 identification:

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

- 5 "(a) The person's passport.
- 6 "(b) The person's motor vehicle operator's license [, whether issued in this
- 7 state or by any other state, so long as the license has a picture of the person]
- 8 issued by this state or another state of the United States.
- 9 "(c) An identification card issued under ORS 807.400.
  - "(d) A United States military identification card.
- 11 "(e) An identification card issued by a federally recognized Indian 12 tribe.
  - "[(e)] (f) Any other identification card issued by a state or territory of the United States that bears a picture of the person, the name of the person, the person's date of birth and a physical description of the person.
  - "(2) If a person does not have identification as described in subsection (1) of this section, the permittee or licensee shall require such person to make a written statement of age and furnish evidence of the person's true age and identity. The written statement of age shall be on a form furnished or approved by the commission, including but not limited to the following information:

ZZ	
23	Date
24	I am 21 years of age or over.
25	Signature
26	Description of evidence in support of age and identity:
27	Identification No. (if any)
28	Identification No. (if any)
29	(Fill in information pertaining to any two or more pieces of evidence submitted by the person.)
30	I hereby certify that I have accurately recorded identification of the evidence submitted to

1	complete this form.
2	
3	Signature of permittee or licensee
4	[ORS 165.805 provides as follows:]
5	[165.805. (1) A person commits the crime of
6	[(a) Being less than a certain, specified age
7	other than the person's true age with the inten

- misrepresentation of age by a minor if:
- , the person knowingly purports to be of any age at of securing a right, benefit or privilege which by
- 8 law is denied to persons under that certain, specified age; or
- 9 [(b) (Not applicable.)]

12

13

14

26

- [(2) Misrepresentation of age by a minor is a Class C misdemeanor.] 10
  - A person under 21 years of age who knowingly misrepresents the person's true age with the intent of obtaining alcohol in violation of ORS chapter 471 may be subject to criminal penalties under ORS 165.805.
- 15
- In line 32, delete "5" and insert "8". 16
- On page 5, after line 27, insert: 17
- **"SECTION 9.** ORS 471.292 is amended to read: 18
- "471.292. (1) A license granted under the Liquor Control Act [or the 19 *Oregon Distilled Liquor Control Act*] shall: 20
- "(a) Be a purely personal privilege. 21
- "(b) Be valid for the period stated in the license. 22
- "(c) Be renewable in the manner provided in ORS 471.311, except for a 23 cause which would be grounds for refusal to issue such license under ORS 24 471.313. 25
  - "(d) Be [revocable or suspendible] subject to cancellation, suspension **or restriction** as provided in ORS 471.315.
- "(e) Be transferable from the place for which the license was originally 28 issued to another location subject to the provisions of the Liquor Control 29 Act, [the Oregon Distilled Liquor Control Act,] any rules of the Oregon Li-30

- 1 quor Control Commission and any municipal ordinance or local regulation.
- 2 "(f) Cease upon the death of the licensee, except as provided in subsection
- 3 (2) of this section.

- 4 "(g) Not constitute property.
- 5 "(h) Not be alienable.
- 6 "(i) Not be subject to attachment or execution.
- 7 "(j) Not descend by the laws of testate or intestate devolution.
- 8 "(2) The commission may, by order, provide for the manner and conditions 9 under which:
- "(a) Alcoholic liquors left by any deceased, insolvent or bankrupt person or licensee, or subject to a security interest, may be foreclosed, sold under execution or otherwise disposed of.
- "(b) The business of any deceased, insolvent or bankrupt licensee may be operated for a reasonable period following the death, insolvency or bankrupt.
- "(c) A business licensed pursuant to this chapter subject to a security interest may be continued in business by a secured party as defined in ORS 79.0102 for a reasonable period after default on the indebtedness by the debtor.
- 20 "(d) A license granted under this chapter may be transferred from the 21 place for which the license was originally issued to another location.
  - **"SECTION 10.** ORS 471.313 is amended to read:
- 23 "471.313. The Oregon Liquor Control Commission may refuse to **issue a** 24 license, **or may issue a restricted license**, **to** any applicant under the 25 provisions of this chapter if the commission has reasonable ground to believe 26 any of the following to be true:
- "(1) That there are sufficient licensed premises in the locality set out in the application, or that the granting of a license in the locality set out in the application is not demanded by public interest or convenience. In determining whether there are sufficient licensed premises in the locality, the

- 1 commission shall consider seasonal fluctuations in the population of the lo-
- 2 cality and shall ensure that there are adequate licensed premises to serve the
- 3 needs of the locality during the peak seasons.
- 4 "(2) That the applicant has not furnished an acceptable bond as required
- 5 by ORS 471.311 or is not maintaining the insurance or bond required by ORS
- 6 471.168.
- 7 "(3) That, except as allowed by ORS 471.392 to 471.400, any applicant to
- 8 sell at retail for consumption on the premises has been financed or furnished
- 9 with money or property by, or has any connection with, or is a manufacturer
- of, or wholesale dealer in, alcoholic liquor.
- "(4) That the applicant:
- "(a) Is in the habit of using alcoholic beverages, habit-forming drugs or controlled substances to excess.
- 14 "(b) Has made false statements to the commission.
- 15 "(c) Is incompetent or physically unable to carry on the management of 16 the establishment proposed to be licensed.
- "(d) Has been convicted of violating a general or local law of this state or another state, or of violating a federal law, if the conviction is substantially related to the fitness and ability of the applicant to lawfully carry out
- "(e) Has maintained an insanitary establishment.

activities under the license.

- 22 "(f) Is not of good repute and moral character.
- 23 "(g) Did not have a good record of compliance with the alcoholic liquor 24 laws of this state and the rules of the commission when previously licensed.
- 25 "(h) Is not the legitimate owner of the business proposed to be licensed,
- or other persons have ownership interests in the business which have not
- 27 been disclosed.

- 28 "(i) Is not possessed of or has not demonstrated financial responsibility
- 29 sufficient to adequately meet the requirements of the business proposed to
- 30 be licensed.

- "(j) Is unable to read or write the English language or to understand the laws of Oregon relating to alcoholic liquor or the rules of the commission.
- "(5) That there is a history of serious and persistent problems involving 3 disturbances, lewd or unlawful activities or noise either in the premises 4 proposed to be licensed or involving patrons of the establishment in the im-5 mediate vicinity of the premises if the activities in the immediate vicinity 6 of the premises are related to the sale or service of alcohol under the exer-7 cise of the license privilege. Behavior which is grounds for refusal of a li-8 cense under this section, where so related to the sale or service of alcohol, 9 includes, but is not limited to obtrusive or excessive noise, music or sound 10 vibrations; public drunkenness; fights; altercations; harassment; unlawful 11 drug sales; alcohol or related litter; trespassing on private property; and 12 public urination. Histories from premises currently or previously operated 13 by the applicant may be considered when reasonable inference may be made 14 that similar activities will occur as to the premises proposed to be licensed. 15 The applicant may overcome the history by showing that the problems are 16 not serious or persistent or that the applicant demonstrates a willingness 17 and ability to control adequately the premises proposed to be licensed and 18 patrons' behavior in the immediate vicinity of the premises which is related 19 to the licensee's sale or service of alcohol under the licensee's exercise of the 20 license privilege. 21

## 22 **"SECTION 11.** ORS 471.315 is amended to read:

- "471.315. (1) The Oregon Liquor Control Commission may cancel, [or] suspend, restrict or require mandatory training for any license issued under this chapter, or impose a civil penalty in lieu of or in addition to a suspension as provided by ORS 471.322, if the commission finds or has reasonable ground to believe any of the following to be true:
  - "(a) That the licensee:

23

24

25

26

27

28

"(A) Has violated any provision of this chapter or ORS 474.115 or any rule of the commission adopted pursuant thereto.

- "(B) Has made any false representation or statement to the commission in order to induce or prevent action by the commission.
- 3 "(C) Is not maintaining an acceptable bond as required by ORS 471.311 4 or is not maintaining the insurance or bond required by ORS 471.168.
- 5 "(D) Has maintained an insanitary establishment.

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

21

22

23

- 6 "(E) Is insolvent or incompetent or physically unable to carry on the 7 management of the establishment of the licensee.
- 8 "(F) Is in the habit of using alcoholic liquor, habit-forming drugs or controlled substances to excess.
- "(G) Has knowingly sold alcoholic liquor to persons under 21 years of age or to persons visibly intoxicated at the time of sale.
  - "(H) Has allowed the consumption of alcoholic liquor on the licensed premises by a person who is visibly intoxicated at the time of consumption.
  - "(I) Has misrepresented to a customer or the public any alcoholic liquor sold by the licensee.
  - "(J) Since the granting of the license, has been convicted of a felony, of violating any of the liquor laws of this state, general or local, or of any misdemeanor or violation of any municipal ordinance committed on the licensed premises.
  - "(b) That any person licensed to sell at retail for consumption on the premises is acting as an agent of, or is a manufacturer or wholesaler of alcoholic liquors, or has borrowed money or property, or has accepted gratuities or rebates, or has obtained the use of equipment from any manufacturer or wholesaler of alcoholic liquor or any agent thereof.
- "(c) That there is a history of serious and persistent problems involving disturbances, lewd or unlawful activities or noise either in the premises or involving patrons of the establishment in the immediate vicinity of the premises if the activities in the immediate vicinity of the premises are related to the sale or service of alcohol under the exercise of the license privilege. Behavior that is grounds for cancellation or suspension of a license

- under this section, where so related to the sale or service of alcohol, includes
- 2 but is not limited to obtrusive or excessive noise, music or sound vibrations;
- 3 public drunkenness; fights; altercations; harassment or unlawful drug sales;
- 4 alcohol or related litter; trespassing on private property; and public
- 5 urination. Mitigating factors include a showing by the licensee that the
- 6 problems are not serious or persistent or that the licensee has demonstrated
- 7 a willingness and ability to control adequately the licensed premises and
- 8 patrons' behavior in the immediate vicinity of the premises which is related
- 9 to the licensee's sale or service of alcohol under the licensee's exercise of the
- 10 license privilege.
- "(d) That there is any other reason that, in the opinion of the commission,
- based on public convenience or necessity, warrants canceling or suspending
- 13 such license.
- "(2) Civil penalties under this section shall be imposed as provided in
- 15 ORS 183.745.".
- In line 28, delete "6" and insert "12".
- In line 33, delete "7" and insert "13".
- On page 6, line 26, delete "8" and insert "14".
- In line 45, delete "9" and insert "15".
- On page 7, line 22, delete "10" and insert "16".
- On page 8, line 10, delete "11" and insert "17".
- In line 11, delete "12" and insert "18".
- In line 14, delete "6" and insert "12".
- In line 16, delete "7 to 9" and insert "13 to 15".
- In line 19, delete "13" and insert "19".

\_\_\_\_\_