Enrolled Senate Resolution 2

Sponsored by Senators HANSELL, BEYER, DEVLIN

Whereas in 2017, the University of Oregon Men's Basketball Team advanced to the National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA) Final Four; and

Whereas the University of Oregon Men's Basketball Team's triumphant return to the Final Four was its first appearance since the 1938-1939 team, nicknamed the Tall Firs, won the inaugural NCAA Men's Basketball Tournament on March 27, 1939, when it was an eight-team tournament; and

Whereas in 2017, the University of Oregon Men's Basketball Team won its second consecutive Pacific-12 (Pac-12) Conference regular season title; and

Whereas the University of Oregon is one of only five schools to have won at least one game in each of the last five NCAA Men's Basketball Tournaments, along with Gonzaga University, the University of Kansas, the University of North Carolina and Wichita State University; and

Whereas the University of Oregon Men's Basketball Team is one of only four teams to have won at least 30 games in each of the last two seasons, joining the University of North Carolina, the University of Kansas and Villanova University; and

Whereas the University of Oregon Men's Basketball Team set a school record of 33 wins in its 2016-2017 season, which also boasted the highest attendance since 1978 and seven sold-out games at Matthew Knight Arena; and

Whereas standing at 42 games, the University of Oregon Men's Basketball Team's current home-game winning streak, which began in the 2014-2015 season and now includes two full seasons of undefeated home play, is the best in the nation; and

Whereas University of Oregon Men's Basketball Team forwards Dillon Brooks and Jordan Bell were recognized as the Pac-12 Player of the Year and the NCAA Midwest Regional Most Outstanding Player, respectively; and

Whereas the University of Oregon Men's Basketball Team set school season records for points (3,076), field goals (1,091), assists (614) and blocks (248), with the number of blocks also setting a Pac-12 record; and

Whereas the University of Oregon Men's Basketball Team has now made five straight NCAA Tournament appearances for the first time in school history, including back-to-back Elite Eight appearances; and

Whereas head coach Dana Altman has led Oregon to seven consecutive 20-win seasons and, during the 2016-2017 season, won his 700th career game as a head coach; and

Whereas the University of Oregon Men's Basketball Team finished the 2016-2017 season nationally ranked at number three, the highest ranking in the program's history; now, therefore,

Be It Resolved by the Senate of the State of Oregon:

That we, the members of the Senate of the Seventy-ninth Legislative Assembly, congratulate the University of Oregon Men's Basketball Team on its performance in this year's NCAA Men's Basketball Tournament games and advancement to the Final Four.

Enrolled Senate Resolution 2 (SR 2-INTRO)

Adopted by Senate May 25, 2017

Lori L. Brocker, Secretary of Senate

Peter Courtney, President of Senate

Enrolled Senate Resolution 2 (SR 2-INTRO)