Enrolled Senate Concurrent Resolution 18

Sponsored by Senators GIROD, STEINER HAYWARD

Whereas many Oregonians feel that it is time to adopt the osprey as our state bird, valuing the raptor as a fitting symbol of Oregon's rugged independence, strength and resilience; and

Whereas other Oregonians favor the western meadowlark, already our unofficial state bird, considering the songbird's peaceful, mellifluous song to be an emblem of gentle beauty and culture within this state; and

Whereas the question of whether the state bird should be a raptor or a songbird presents a false dichotomy; and

Whereas sometimes the best answer to an "either-or" question is "and"; and

Whereas Oregon is not wholly represented by one climate or region of the state; and

Whereas Oregonians, themselves, cannot be categorized as only one type of person; and

Whereas a multifaceted Oregon calls for two types of state bird: the state raptor and the state songbird; and

Whereas the western meadowlark brings to mind the open fields and meadows spread across the state; and

Whereas the osprey evokes Oregon's lakes, rivers, streams and ocean; and

Whereas the western meadowlark's song and bright colors have delighted generations of Oregonians; and

Whereas the osprey in flight, with its striking markings against the sky, causes Oregonians to stop and stare in wonder; and

Whereas embracing the excellent qualities of one bird does not derogate those of the other; and

Whereas while most states are content to be limited to one state bird, Oregon recognizes the need for another, understanding that there is room in the hearts of Oregonians for two symbolic birds; now, therefore,

Be It Resolved by the Legislative Assembly of the State of Oregon:

That we, the members of the Seventy-ninth Legislative Assembly, designate the osprey (Pandion haliaetus) as the official state raptor of Oregon; and be it further

Resolved, That we designate the western meadowlark (Sturnella neglecta) as the official state songbird of Oregon.

Adopted by Senate April 6, 2017

Readopted by Senate July 7, 2017

Lori L. Brocker, Secretary of Senate

Peter Courtney, President of Senate

Adopted by House July 7, 2017

Tina Kotek, Speaker of House