## **Enrolled**

## **Senate Concurrent Resolution 17**

Sponsored by Senator GELSER, Representative RAYFIELD

Whereas Oregon State University (OSU) earned its first official victory in women's basketball on December 7, 1976; and

Whereas the 2015-2016 and 2016-2017 seasons will also be remembered as times of notable victories and achievements for the OSU Women's Basketball Team; and

Whereas in 2016, the OSU Women's Basketball Team made the National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA) Women's Final Four for the first time in program history; and

Whereas in 2017, the OSU Women's Basketball Team advanced to the NCAA Women's Sweet 16 for the second year in a row; and

Whereas the OSU Women's Basketball Team won consecutive Pacific-12 (Pac-12) regular-season championships in 2015, 2016 and 2017; and

Whereas the OSU Women's Basketball Team earned its first ever Pac-12 Tournament championship in 2016; and

Whereas Oregon State University was selected to host the first two rounds of the NCAA Tournament in 2015, 2016 and 2017; and

Whereas the OSU Women's Basketball Team ended the 2015-2016 season ranked as the number two team in the nation, according to the Women's Basketball Coaches Association (WBCA) coaches poll, and ended the 2016-2017 season ranked ninth in the USA Today coaches poll; and

Whereas in February 2017, the OSU Women's Basketball Team set a program record for single-game attendance, when the team played against Stanford University before a sold-out crowd of 9,604 fans at Gill Coliseum; and

Whereas OSU Women's Basketball Team guard Jamie Weisner was named an All-American and Pac-12 Conference Player of the Year in 2016; and

Whereas OSU Women's Basketball Team center Ruth Hamblin was named an Academic All-American and Senior CLASS Award All-American in 2016 and was chosen as Pac-12 Defensive Player of the Year for the second consecutive season; and

Whereas in 2017, OSU Women's Basketball Team guard Sydney Wiese was named to the All-Pac-12 team, becoming only the 14th player in Pac-12 history to receive that honor four times, and was chosen as Pac-12 Scholar Athlete of the Year and a Wooden Award All-American; and

Whereas OSU Women's Basketball Team center Marie Gulich was named to the 2017 All-Pac-12 team; and

Whereas OSU Women's Basketball Team guard Gabriella Hanson was chosen as Pac-12 Defensive Player of the Year in 2017; and

Whereas OSU Women's Basketball Team guard Mikayla Pivec was named to the Pac-12 All-Freshman team in 2017; and

Whereas the OSU women's basketball program has embodied standards of high academic and athletic success, creating a family-friendly environment for fans; and

Whereas the OSU women's basketball program has fostered a team culture of integrity, honesty, high character and grit that sets a sterling example for younger players; now, therefore,

## Be It Resolved by the Legislative Assembly of the State of Oregon:

That we, the members of the Seventy-ninth Legislative Assembly, commend the Oregon State University Women's Basketball Team's exemplary intercollegiate athletic achievements and performance during the 2015-2016 and 2016-2017 seasons. Go Beavs!

Adopted by Senate April 20, 2017

Lori L. Brocker, Secretary of Senate

Peter Courtney, President of Senate

Adopted by House June 20, 2017

Tina Kotek, Speaker of House