## Enrolled Senate Bill 85

Printed pursuant to Senate Interim Rule 213.28 by order of the President of the Senate in conformance with presession filing rules, indicating neither advocacy nor opposition on the part of the President (at the request of Governor Kate Brown for Public Utility Commission)

CHAPTER	

## AN ACT

Relating to telecommunication devices for persons with disabilities; creating new provisions; and amending section 12, chapter 290, Oregon Laws 1987.

## Be It Enacted by the People of the State of Oregon:

**SECTION 1.** Section 12, chapter 290, Oregon Laws 1987, as amended by section 5, chapter 872, Oregon Laws 1991, and section 356, chapter 70, Oregon Laws 2007, is amended to read:

**Sec. 12.** (1) A Telecommunication Devices Access Program Advisory Committee [shall be] is established to advise the Public Utility Commission [concerning matters of] on the general development, implementation and administration of the Telecommunication Devices Access Program.

- (2) The Telecommunication Devices Access Program Advisory Committee shall include:
- (a) [Nine consumers including] Five consumers as follows:
- (A) [Seven] Three who are deaf or hard of hearing[,];
- **(B)** One who is speech impaired [and one] or who has a disability; and
- (C) One who is visually impaired or deaf-blind;
- (b) One professional in the field of speech impairment, visual impairment, hearing impairment or deafness or disability; and
  - [(c) One member of the Public Utility Commission or a designee of the commission; and]
- [(d)] (c) One representative from those telephone companies interested in providing telecommunication devices access relay services.

SECTION 2. The amendments to section 12, chapter 290, Oregon Laws 1987, by section 1 of this 2017 Act apply to selections for committee membership made on or after the effective date of this 2017 Act.

Passed by Senate February 21, 2017	Received by Governor:
Repassed by Senate June 14, 2017	, 2017
	Approved:
Lori L. Brocker, Secretary of Senate	, 2017
Peter Courtney, President of Senate	Kate Brown, Governor
Passed by House June 1, 2017	Filed in Office of Secretary of State:
	, 2017
Tina Kotek, Speaker of House	
	Dennis Richardson, Secretary of State