Enrolled

House Concurrent Resolution 4

Sponsored by Representative WILSON; Representative ESQUIVEL (Presession filed.)

Whereas Deputy Alice Mae Baker Moran was born on December 14, 1934, in Wimer, Oregon, to parents Minnie M. Baker and Henry H. Baker and grew up in the Rogue River area with her brothers, Henry and Elmer, and sisters, Ruth, Lela, Vera and Bertha; and

Whereas Deputy Moran graduated from Rogue River High School in 1953; and

Whereas Deputy Moran married James Moran in 1954, becoming stepmother to his two sons, Nicholas and Thomas, and together she and James had four more children, Michael, Mark, Rita and Jolene; and

Whereas Deputy Moran was hired by the Josephine County Sheriff's Office in July 1970; and Whereas Deputy Moran also served as a relief cook and part-time matron for the Josephine County iail: and

Whereas Deputy Moran died on November 17, 1971, along with Josephine County Sheriff's Deputy Glenn Allen, when their airplane crashed into the side of Walker Mountain near Merlin, Oregon, while transporting witnesses to Josephine County to testify in a trial; and

Whereas Deputy Moran was the first female police officer killed in the line of duty in Oregon; and

Whereas Deputy Moran's daughter Rita was married to Josephine County Deputy Thomas Rice, who died in the line of duty on May 23, 2002, in a helicopter crash; and

Whereas Deputy Moran enjoyed spending as much time as possible with her family; and

Whereas Deputy Moran loved being a mother, camping with her friends and family, reading, baking and mentoring through Alcoholics Anonymous; and

Whereas Deputy Moran was loved and respected by her coworkers and the community; and

Whereas Deputy Moran did an important job and did it with passion, dedication and diligence; and

Whereas Deputy Moran had many friends and is deeply missed; now, therefore,

Be It Resolved by the Legislative Assembly of the State of Oregon:

That we, the members of the Seventy-ninth Legislative Assembly, recognize and honor Deputy Alice Mae Baker Moran for her service to this state.

Adopted by House March 27, 2017
Timothy G. Sekerak, Chief Clerk of House
Tina Kotek, Speaker of House
Adopted by Senate April 27, 2017

Peter Courtney, President of Senate