## **Enrolled**

## **House Concurrent Resolution 21**

Sponsored by Representatives WHISNANT, MCLANE, BUEHLER, HUFFMAN, Senator KNOPP

Whereas 100 years have passed since the creation of Deschutes County; and

Whereas the 3,055 square miles of varying landscapes that now constitute Deschutes County were, in the early 20th century, a part of Crook County; and

Whereas after the 1911 completion of the railroad known as the Oregon Trunk Line spurred the rapid growth of Bend and Redmond, many residents considered splitting off from Crook County; and

Whereas in 1914, a ballot measure proposing the relocation of the county seat of Crook County from Prineville to Bend was put forth but defeated; and

Whereas after two more years of heated debate, voters passed a landmark measure to create a new county from territory in western Crook County, and Governor James Withycombe announced the creation of Deschutes County on December 13, 1916; and

Whereas Bend was established as the county seat, and on December 19, 1916, leaders convened to select Deschutes County's first officers; and

Whereas those first appointments included Judge William Barnes, Commissioners A. L. Mackintosh and Lew Smith, District Attorney Harvey DeArmond and Sheriff S. E. Roberts; and

Whereas Deschutes County, the last of all of Oregon's counties to be created, has flourished and progressed from its initial 5,000 inhabitants in 1916 to become this state's fastest growing county; and

Whereas in its first 100 years, Deschutes County has developed into a bustling region of unique beauty where progress and tradition, recreational activities and business, and wildlife and agriculture intertwine on the high desert; now, therefore,

## Be It Resolved by the Legislative Assembly of the State of Oregon:

That we, the members of the Seventy-ninth Legislative Assembly, commemorate the occasion of the 100th anniversary of the creation of Deschutes County, celebrated on December 13, 2016, and convey our warmest regards to its residents.

Adopted by House April 10, 2017
Timothy G. Sekerak, Chief Clerk of House
Tina Kotek, Speaker of House
Adopted by Senate June 6, 2017
racpica by schale dance of 2011
Peter Courtney President of Senate