Enrolled

House Concurrent Resolution 19

Sponsored by Representative MALSTROM; Representatives DOHERTY, EVANS

Whereas the Marion blackberry was introduced by George F. Waldo of the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) in Corvallis, Oregon, in 1956 as part of the USDA-Agricultural Research Service berry breeding program run in collaboration with Oregon State University; and

Whereas the Marion is a hybrid blackberry that is a cross between the "Chehalem" and "Olallieberry" cultivars; and

Whereas the Marion blackberry is named after Marion County, where it was tested extensively; and

Whereas 95 percent of the world's Marion blackberries are grown in Oregon; and

Whereas the Marion blackberry is a trailing, vigorous grower that produces canes up to 20 feet in length and up to six tons of berries per acre; and

Whereas the Willamette Valley's climate, with moist spring rains and summers that are dry and warm during the day and cool at night, is ideal for growing Marion blackberries; and

Whereas Oregon is the primary grower of Marion blackberries globally, producing 21 million pounds annually with 300 Oregon growers and 20 Oregon packers engaged in the production and packing of Marion blackberries; and

Whereas the Marion blackberry is a nutritious food that is very high in antioxidants, vitamins and fiber and is recognized as having a profound and positive effect on health; and

Whereas one of the most delicious ways to eat Marion blackberries is in a Marionberry pie; and

Whereas Marionberry pies are mouthwatering and delightful when served by themselves, à la mode or garnished with whipped cream; and

Whereas an ideal way to celebrate the wonders of a Pacific Northwest summer is to share a summertime meal with friends or family that concludes with a slice of fresh Marionberry pie; now, therefore,

Be It Resolved by the Legislative Assembly of the State of Oregon:

That the Marionberry pie is the official pie of the State of Oregon.

Adopted by House May 8, 2017

Timothy G. Sekerak, Chief Clerk of House

Tina Kotek, Speaker of House

Adopted by Senate July 6, 2017

Peter Courtney, President of Senate