Enrolled House Bill 2737

Sponsored by Representatives BARNHART, BYNUM; Representatives KENY-GUYER, NATHANSON, POWER, Senators MANNING JR, MONNES ANDERSON (at the request of Tom Bowerman, Oregon Housing Alliance)

CHAPTER	

AN ACT

Relating to construction standards for small homes; and prescribing an effective date.

Be It Enacted by the People of the State of Oregon:

SECTION 1. Section 2 of this 2017 Act is added to and made a part of ORS chapter 455.

SECTION 2. (1) As used in this section, "small home" means a dwelling that is not more than 600 square feet in size.

- (2) The Director of the Department of Consumer and Business Services shall adopt construction standards for prefabricated and site-built small homes for incorporation into the state building code. The construction standards for small homes must include, but need not be limited to, standards that:
 - (a) Allow sleeping lofts; and
- (b) Allow the use of ladders or alternate tread devices as the primary means of egress from a sleeping loft.

<u>SECTION 3.</u> The Director of the Department of Consumer and Business Services shall complete the adoption of initial construction standards for small homes under section 2 of this 2017 Act in time for the standards to become effective no later than January 1, 2018.

SECTION 4. The Director of the Department of Consumer and Business Services shall report to a committee of the Legislative Assembly relating to construction in the manner provided by ORS 192.245 no later than March 1, 2019, regarding the implementation and use of construction standards for small homes adopted under section 2 of this 2017 Act. The report may include, but need not be limited to, any recommendations of the director regarding construction standards for small homes.

SECTION 5. This 2017 Act takes effect on the 91st day after the date on which the 2017 regular session of the Seventy-ninth Legislative Assembly adjourns sine die.

Passed by House May 2, 2017	Received by Governor:
Repassed by House June 7, 2017	, 2017
	Approved:
Timothy G. Sekerak, Chief Clerk of House	, 2017
Tina Kotek, Speaker of House	Kate Brown, Governor
Passed by Senate June 5, 2017	Filed in Office of Secretary of State:
	, 2017
Peter Courtney, President of Senate	Dennis Richardson Secretary of State