Enrolled House Bill 2586

Sponsored by Representative RAYFIELD (Presession filed.)

CHAPTER

AN ACT

Relating to formation of a political committee; amending ORS 260.043.

Be It Enacted by the People of the State of Oregon:

SECTION 1. ORS 260.043 is amended to read:

260.043. (1) A candidate who serves as the candidate's own treasurer and who expects neither the aggregate contributions to be received nor the aggregate expenditures to be made by or on behalf of the candidate to exceed \$750 in total amount during a calendar year is not required to:

- (a) File a statement of organization under ORS 260.039;
- (b) Establish a single exclusive campaign account under ORS 260.054; or
- (c) File statements under ORS 260.057.
- (2) A candidate described in subsection (1) of this section must keep contribution and expenditure records for the previous 24 months.
- (3) If at any time following the filing of a nominating petition, declaration of candidacy or certificate of nomination and during the calendar year either the aggregate contributions or aggregate expenditures exceed \$750, the candidate shall do all of the following:
 - (a) File a statement of organization under ORS 260.039.
 - (b) Establish a single exclusive campaign account as required under ORS 260.054.
- (c) File a statement under ORS 260.057 showing all contributions received and expenditures made. The statement shall be filed not later than seven calendar days after aggregate contributions or aggregate expenditures exceed \$750 during a calendar year.
 - (d) If necessary, file additional statements under ORS 260.057.
- (4) For purposes of this section, a fee paid under ORS 251.095 is exempt and may not be considered when calculating:
 - (a) The expected aggregate amount of contributions received or expenditures made; or
 - (b) The actual aggregate amount of contributions received or expenditures made.
 - [(4)] (5) This section does not apply to candidates for federal office.

Passed by House April 17, 2017	Received by Governor:
	, 2017
Timothy G. Sekerak, Chief Clerk of House	Approved:
	, 2017
Tina Kotek, Speaker of House	
Passed by Senate May 9, 2017	Kate Brown, Governor
	Filed in Office of Secretary of State:
Peter Courtney, President of Senate	, 2017
	Dennis Richardson, Secretary of State