Enrolled House Bill 2398

Introduced and printed pursuant to House Rule 12.00. Presession filed (at the request of House Interim Committee on Health Care for Oregon Law Center)

CHAPTER

AN ACT

Relating to medical assistance.

Be It Enacted by the People of the State of Oregon:

<u>SECTION 1.</u> Section 2 of this 2017 Act is added to and made a part of ORS chapter 414. <u>SECTION 2.</u> (1) A health care provider may not bill or solicit payment from a medical assistance applicant or recipient for services, except for copayments or other charges au-

thorized by the Oregon Health Authority by rule.

(2)(a) A health care provider that submits a claim for payment to the authority or a coordinated care organization shall wait to receive payment for at least 90 days after submitting the claim before assigning the claim to a collection agency or similar entity to recover from the patient.

(b) If the claim remains unpaid 90 days after a health care provider submits the claim to the authority or a coordinated care organization, the health care provider shall first query the medical assistance program database to confirm the patient's eligibility for medical assistance.

(c) The health care provider may not assign the claim for collection if the authority confirms that the patient was eligible for medical assistance at the time the services were provided.

SECTION 3. Not later than September 15, 2018, the Oregon Health Authority shall convene a stakeholder group to discuss the implementation of section 2 of this 2017 Act and shall report to the interim committees of the Legislative Assembly related to health on the extent to which the implementation of section 2 of this 2017 Act has reduced or eliminated improper billings to or collection of claims from medical assistance recipients.

<u>SECTION 4.</u> Section 2 of this 2017 Act applies to claims for payments submitted to the Oregon Health Authority on or after the effective date of this 2017 Act.

Passed by House April 25, 2017	Received by Governor:
Timothy G. Sekerak, Chief Clerk of House	Approved:
Tina Kotek, Speaker of House	
Passed by Senate June 5, 2017	Kate Brown, Governor
	Filed in Office of Secretary of State:
Peter Courtney, President of Senate	

Dennis Richardson, Secretary of State