## Enrolled House Bill 2100

Sponsored by Representative HUFFMAN, Senator KNOPP, Representative WHISNANT, Senator JOHNSON; Representatives BARRETO, BENTZ, BUEHLER, BYNUM, ESQUIVEL, FAHEY, GOMBERG, HACK, HAYDEN, HEARD, HOLVEY, KENNEMER, LEWIS, LIVELY, MCLAIN, MCLANE, MEEK, NOBLE, POST, POWER, RESCHKE, SMITH WARNER, SOLLMAN, VIAL, WILSON (at the request of LTC Dick Tobiason) (Presession filed.)

CHAPTER	
---------	--

## AN ACT

Relating to highways; and prescribing an effective date.

Whereas the Medal of Honor is our nation's highest award for valor presented to veterans of the Armed Forces of the United States for acting above and beyond the call of duty during combat and at the risk of death to oneself; and

Whereas Oregon has been home to 26 Medal of Honor recipients from the United States Army, United States Army Air Forces, United States Navy and the United States Marine Corps who served during eight wars from the Civil War to Vietnam, a period of 108 years; and

Whereas Bend Heroes Foundation created the Oregon Medal of Honor Exhibit at Evergreen Aviation and Space Museum in McMinnville honoring all 26 recipients in a central location; and

Whereas 26 recipients have resided in, live in or were laid to rest in 12 Oregon cities and communities Agness, Bend, Corvallis, Eugene, Hood River, Jordan Valley, Medford, Oakridge, Portland, Richland, Salem and The Dalles; and

Whereas the 2017 Legislative Assembly adopted House Concurrent Resolution 1 designating these locations as "Medal of Honor" communities or cities; and

Whereas, the Bend Heroes Foundation plans to work with local organizations to place Medal of Honor markers in communities for the following recipients: Alaric B. Chapin, Civil War, 1861-1865; Hartwell B. Compson, Civil War, 1861-1865; Nathan H. Edgerton, Civil War, 1861-1865; Louis Renninger, Civil War, 1861-1865; James Jackson, Indian Campaigns, 1861-1898; Nicholas Meaher, Indian Campaigns, 1861-1898; Lewis Phife, Indian Campaigns, 1861-1898; Frank C. High, Philippine Insurrection, 1899-1911; Charles E. Kilbourne, Philippine Insurrection, 1899-1911; Marcus W. Robertson, Philippine Insurrection, 1899-1911; Jacob Volz, Philippine Insurrection, 1899-1911; John A. Murphy, Boxer Rebellion, 1900; Harry D. Fadden, Peacetime, 1903; Edward C. Allworth, World War I, 1917-1918; Arnold L. Bjorklund, World War II, 1941-1945; Arthur J. Jackson, World War II, 1941-1945; David R. Kingsley, World War II, 1941-1945; Robert D. Maxwell, World War II, 1941-1945; Henry Schauer, World War II, 1941-1945; Stuart S. Stryker, World War II, 1941-1945; Stanley T. Adams, Korean War, 1950-1953; Loren R. Kaufman, Korean War, 1950-1953; Larry G. Dahl, Vietnam War, 1964-1975; John N. Holcomb, Vietnam War, 1964-1975; Gary W. Martini, Vietnam War, 1964-1975; and Maximo Yabes, Vietnam War, 1964-1975; and

Whereas Oregon's Medal of Honor recipients are not presently honored by Medal of Honor markers in their communities; and

Whereas placing community markers will acknowledge the service and sacrifice of Congressional Medal of Honor recipients; and

Whereas U.S. Highway 20 in Oregon is the only major border-to-border highway not designated to honor Oregon war veterans; and

Whereas U.S. Highway 20 in Oregon, at 451 miles in length, is the longest border-to-border highway in Oregon; and

Whereas U.S. Highway 20 in Oregon includes the city of Corvallis, home of World War I Medal of Honor recipient Edward C. Allworth, and the city of Bend, home of World War II Medal of Honor recipient Robert D. Maxwell; and

Whereas U.S. Highway 20 would be the first such border-to-border highway in our nation honoring all of a state's recipients; and

Whereas U.S. Highway 20, at 3,365 miles in length, spans our nation from Newport, Oregon, to Boston, Massachusetts, traversing 12 states, and is the longest highway in our nation; and

Whereas U.S. Highway 20 as a national Medal of Honor Highway across our nation would honor 1,987 accredited recipients in 12 states, or about 57 percent of all recipients of the Medal of Honor; and

Whereas designating U.S. Highway 20 in Oregon as the Oregon Medal of Honor Highway would set an example for creating the first American Medal of Honor Highway across America; and

Whereas Robert D. Maxwell, a World War II veteran, who at 96 years of age is our nation's oldest living Medal of Honor recipient of all wars, lives in Bend and is the only Medal of Honor recipient living in Oregon; and

Whereas Oregon deeply appreciates the service and sacrifice of its Medal of Honor recipients and the positive roles they have played in their communities across Oregon for more than 100 years; and

Whereas Oregon's veterans have offered to pay the cost to create, install and maintain signs for the "Oregon Medal of Honor Highway" and community markers; now, therefore,

## Be It Enacted by the People of the State of Oregon:

SECTION 1. (1) The Department of Transportation may install and maintain memorial markers in roadside rest areas and turnouts on U.S. Highway 20 recognizing this state's current and future recipients of the Medal of Honor.

(2)(a) The department may accept moneys from and may enter into agreements with veterans groups to create, install and maintain the signs.

(b) The department may not use public funds for the installation and maintenance of the signs.

SECTION 2. (1) The portion of U.S. Highway 20 beginning in Newport, Oregon, and ending at the Idaho state line shall also be known as the Oregon Medal of Honor Highway, honoring current and future Medal of Honor recipients.

(2) The Department of Transportation shall place and maintain along U.S. Highway 20 suitable markers that include the designation of the highway as the Oregon Medal of Honor Highway.

(3)(a) The department may accept moneys from and may enter into agreements with veterans groups to create, install and maintain the markers.

(b) The department may not use public funds for the installation and maintenance of the markers.

SECTION 3. This 2017 Act takes effect on the 91st day after the date on which the 2017 regular session of the Seventy-ninth Legislative Assembly adjourns sine die.

Passed by House March 22, 2017	Received by Governor:
Repassed by House June 5, 2017	, 201 <sup>r</sup>
	Approved:
Timothy G. Sekerak, Chief Clerk of House	, 2017
Tina Kotek, Speaker of House	Kate Brown, Governor
Passed by Senate May 31, 2017	Filed in Office of Secretary of State:
	, 201
Peter Courtney, President of Senate	
•	Dennis Richardson, Secretary of State