SCR 17 A STAFF MEASURE SUMMARY

House Committee On Rules

Action Date: 06/14/17

Action: Do adopt the A-Eng measure.

Vote: 6-0-3-0

Yeas: 6 - Hack, Holvey, Kennemer, McLane, Nosse, Williamson

Exc: 3 - Barreto, Rayfield, Smith Warner

Fiscal: No fiscal impact
Revenue: No revenue impact
Prepared By: Erin Seiler, LPRO Analyst

WHAT THE MEASURE DOES:

Commends Oregon State University Women's Basketball Team on its 2015-16 and 2016-17 seasons.

ISSUES DISCUSSED:

Provisions of resolution

EFFECT OF AMENDMENT:

No amendment.

BACKGROUND:

In 2016, the Oregon State University (OSU) Women's Basketball Team made the National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA) Women's Final Four for the first time in the program's history. The OSU Women's Basketball Team won consecutive Pacific-12 (Pac-12) regular season championships in 2015, 2016 and 2017, and earned its first Pac-12 Tournament Championship in 2016. In 2017, the team advanced to the NCAA Women's Sweet 16 for the second consecutive year and set a program record for single-game attendance, when they played Stanford University in front of a sold-out crowd at Gill Coliseum.

In 2016, Jamie Weisner was named an All-American and Pac-12 Conference Player of the year. Additionally, Ruth Hamblin was named an Academic All-American, Senior CLASS Award All-American and Pac-12 Defensive Player of the year in 2016. In 2017, OSU Women's Basketball Team guard Sydney Wiese was named to the All-Pac-12 team, chosen as Pac-12 Scholar Athlete of the Year and a Wooden Award All-American. Further, in 2017 Marie Gulich was named to the All-Pac-12 team; Gabriella Hanson was chosen as Pac-12 Defensive Player of the Year; and Mikayla Pivec was named to the Pac-12 All-Freshman team.

Senate Concurrent Resolution 17-A commends the OSU Women's Basketball Team for its exemplary intercollegiate athletic achievements and performance during the 2015-2016 and 2016-2017 seasons.

Carrier: Rep. Rayfield