HCR 1 A STAFF MEASURE SUMMARY

Senate Committee On Veterans and Emergency Preparedness

Action Date: 05/02/17

Action: Be adopted with amendments. (Printed A-Eng.)

Vote: 4-0-0-0

Yeas: 4 - Boquist, Monnes Anderson, Olsen, President Courtney

Fiscal: No fiscal impact
Revenue: No revenue impact
Prepared By: C. Ross, LPRO Analyst

WHAT THE MEASURE DOES:

Designates 12 "Medal of Honor" cities and communities in Oregon.

ISSUES DISCUSSED:

Provisions of measure

EFFECT OF AMENDMENT:

Changes number of wars from seven to eight. Changes number of communities associated with recipients from 11 to 12, with addition of Oakridge.

BACKGROUND:

The Congressional Medal of Honor is the nation's highest award for valor presented to members of the United States Armed Forces for acting above and beyond the call of duty during combat. Oregon has been home to 26 Congressional Medal of Honor recipients, representing four branches of the military and service in seven wars. The Medal of Honor Exhibit at Evergreen Aviation and Space Museum in McMinnville honors all 26 recipients in a central location but recipients are not presently honored individually by community.

House Concurrent Resolution 1-A designates Agness, Bend, Corvallis, Eugene, Hood River, Jordan Valley, Medford, Oakridge, Richland, Portland, Salem and The Dalles as "Medal of Honor" communities.

Carrier: Sen. Knopp