## HCR 1 STAFF MEASURE SUMMARY

# **House Committee On Rules**

Action Date: 02/16/17
Action: Be Adopted.
Vote: 9-0-0-0

**Yeas:** 9 - Barreto, Hack, Holvey, Kennemer, McLane, Nosse, Rayfield, Smith Warner, Williamson

**Fiscal:** No fiscal impact **Revenue:** No revenue impact **Prepared By:** Erin Seiler, LPRO Analyst

### WHAT THE MEASURE DOES:

Designates cities of Agness, Bend, Corvallis, Eugene, Hood River, Jordan Valley, Medford, Richland, Portland, Salem and The Dalles as "Medal of Honor" communities or cities.

# **ISSUES DISCUSSED:**

- History and uniqueness of Medal of Honor
- Oregon's 26 recipients of Medal of Honor
- Honoring all of Oregon's veterans
- Installation of Medal of Honor markers in 11 locations

#### **EFFECT OF AMENDMENT:**

No amendment.

#### **BACKGROUND:**

The Congressional Medal of Honor is the nation's highest award for valor presented to members of the Armed Forces of the United States for acting above and beyond the call of duty during combat. Oregon has been home to 26 Congressional Medal of Honor recipients, representing all four branches of the military and service in seven wars.

The Medal of Honor Exhibit at Evergreen Aviation and Space Museum was created by the Bend Heroes Foundation. It honors all 26 recipients in a central location but Oregon's Congressional Medal of Honor recipients are not presently honored by Congressional Medal of Honor markers in their communities.

House Concurrent Resolution 1 designates the cities of Agness, Bend, Corvallis, Eugene, Hood River, Jordan Valley, Medford, Richland, Portland, Salem and The Dalles as "Medal of Honor" communities or cities.

Carrier: Rep. Huffman