

The Oregon State Pharmacy Coalition Urges Your Support of HB 2388

HB 2388 will help to strengthen the implementation of a 2013 law, ensuring compliance by Pharmacy Benefit Managers and enabling Main Street Pharmacists to better serve Oregonians.

Oregon Legislative History Surrounding PBMs:

In 2013 the legislature unanimously passed <u>HB 2123</u>, which required pharmacy benefit managers to register with Department of Consumer and Business Services and include clearly defined oversight and enforcement powers for the Insurance Division.

This session, HB 2388 seeks to demand compliance with that legislation. This bill underscores statutory requirements and lays out potential penalties for failing to comply. It provides standard regulatory and compliance tools used with other registration programs in Oregon, ensuring that bad actors can no longer avoid complying with current health care laws.

- Gives the Oregon Insurance Division the tools they need to appropriately enforce the law:
 - The ability to adjust the \$50.00 cap on registration fees to cover the cost of administration;
 - Standardizes enforcement provisions upon receipt of a complaint or upon the Division's own action.
 - Compliance tools include civil fines up to \$10,000 for violations, registration suspension or revocation for more serious or repeated violations.
 - · Standardizes investigative authority for the purposes of enforcing the registration program.
 - Expands customer service and accountability channels on DCBS website in order to best facilitate appeals and any validated investigations.
- Clarifies that the protective provisions of the Oregon law applies to both the PBM/Pharmacy contracting relationship but also the pharmacy/contracting entity.
 - · Pharmacy Services Administrative Organizations are

Delivery of cost-effective and convenient patient care is critical. Please support HB 2388 which strengthens Oregon's PBM registration law and ensures a fair and transparent medication delivery marketplace.