

# **Department of Transportation**

Director's Office 355 Capitol St. NE, MS 11 Salem, OR 97301

**DATE:** February 15, 2017

**TO:** House Committee on Transportation Policy

**FROM:** Jerri Bohard, Administrator

Transportation Development Division

**SUBJECT:** HB 2667 – Vision Zero Task Force

#### INTRODUCTION

House Bill 2667 creates a Vision Zero Task Force that focuses on serious injury and fatal crashes involving bicycles and pedestrians.

### **DISCUSSION**

In October 2016 the Oregon Transportation Commission, at the recommendation of the governor-appointed Oregon Transportation Safety Committee, adopted the 2016 Oregon Transportation Safety Action Plan (TSAP), an update to the 2011 plan. The plan provides long-term goals, policies and strategies and near-term actions to eliminate deaths and life-changing injuries on Oregon's transportation system by 2035. It serves as a Strategic Highway Safety Plan—a statewide coordinated safety plan that provides a comprehensive framework for reducing fatalities and serious injuries—as required by the Federal Highway Administration.

The TSAP addresses all modes on all public roads in Oregon. This plan was led by a diverse stakeholders group (list attached), chaired by the Oregon Transportation Safety Committee Chair, and developed under the leadership of ODOT. It was developed with much input and coordination from stakeholders and partner agencies. We offered on-line and open public meetings to gather input around the state.

Four emphasis areas provide us with near-term implementation focus areas: risky behaviors, infrastructure, vulnerable users (including bicycles and pedestrians), and improved systems. The plan will be implemented by ODOT and all residents, stakeholders, cities, counties, metropolitan planning organizations, tribal governments, and affected state agencies in Oregon.

HB 2667 focuses on only two users of the highway system—bicycles and pedestrians. While they are certainly vulnerable users of the system, a safety plan must consider and encompass all users.

The bill directs the task force to review draft policy strategies and actions of the 2016 Oregon Transportation Safety Action Plan. The plan was adopted and finalized in October 2016. The work of the Vision Zero task force created by HB 2667 may duplicate the work just completed through the update to the Oregon Transportation Safety Action Plan. The work of the task force

February 15, 2017 House Committee on Transportation Policy Page 2

could also result in different safety investment priorities than those identified in the Oregon Transportation Safety Action Plan, since it does not consider all users of the system.

## **SUMMARY**

HB 2667 creates a Vision Zero Task Force. The work of the task force could duplicate or be in conflict with efforts just completed through the update to the Oregon Transportation Safety Action Plan.

Link to 2016 Transportation Safety Action Plan: <a href="https://www.oregon.gov/ODOT/TD/TP/TSAP/TSAP.pdf">https://www.oregon.gov/ODOT/TD/TP/TSAP/TSAP.pdf</a>

Attachment: Transportation Safety Action Plan Update Policy Advisory Committee Members

# Transportation Safety Action Plan Update Policy Advisory Committee Members

Name	Affiliation
Michael Laverty	Oregon Transportation Safety Committee
Victor Hoffer	Oregon Transportation Safety Committee
Luis Ornelas	Oregon Transportation Safety Committee
Marian Owens	Oregon Transportation Safety Committee
Jerome S Cooper	Oregon Transportation Safety Committee
Emily Acklund	Association of Oregon Counties
Pamela Barlow Lind	Cascades West Area Commission on
	Transportation & Confederated Tribes of the
	Siletz
Kimberly Dailey	Oregon Justice Department
Tyler Deke	Bend Metropolitan Planning Organization
Chuck Hayes	Governor's Advisory Committee on DUI
Chris Henry	City of Eugene/Governor's Advisory
-	Committee on Motorcycle Safety
Craig Honeyman	League of Oregon Cities
Dave Jostad	May Trucking
Scott Kotcher	Oregon Walks
Brian Ray	Kittelson & Associates
Lt. James Rentz	Oregon State Police
Michael Tynan	Oregon Health Authority
Troy Costales	ODOT Transportation Safety Division