SB 754 STAFF MEASURE SUMMARY

Senate Committee On Health Care

Prepared By: Oliver Droppers, LPRO Analyst

Meeting Dates: 2/14, 2/16

WHAT THE MEASURE DOES:

Increases the minimum age from 18 to 21 years of age to purchase and possess tobacco products. Establishes a set of fines for individuals or business that distributes or sells tobacco related products or an inhalant delivery system to persons under 21 years of age. Modifies statutory definition of cigarettes to include inhalant devices and products not approved by the United States Food and Drug Administration. Expands the definition of facilities that must not permit a person under 21 years of age to possess tobacco or inhalant delivery systems to include colleges, community colleges, universities, career schools or technical education schools. Emergency clause; effective upon passage.

REVENUE: May have revenue impact, but no statement yet issued. FISCAL: May have fiscal impact, but no statement yet issued.

ISSUES DISCUSSED:

EFFECT OF AMENDMENT:

No amendment.

BACKGROUND:

Tobacco use is the number one preventable cause of death and disease in Oregon, resulting in 7,000 deaths, annual, costing Oregonians \$2.5 billion a year in medical expenditures and lost productivity due to premature death. Ninety percent of smokers start smoking before the age of 18. According to Oregon Public Health Division, in 2013, ten percent of Oregon's 11th-grade students smoke cigarettes, and approximately 20 percent use other tobacco products.

Two states (California and Hawaii) and a number of local governments have raised the minimum tobacco age to 21 years. The policy is aimed to lower initiation rates among adolescents and young adults. Senate Bill 754 raises the legal age to purchase and consume tobacco to 21 years of age in Oregon.