

February 6, 2017

Chair, Representative Ann Lininger Vice-Chair, Representative Pam Marsh Vice-Chair, Representative David Brock Smith House Committee On Economic Development and Trade

RE: Interior Design Recognition in Oregon

Dear Representative Ann Lininger, Representative Pam March, Representative David Brock Smith:

We are writing you to express our support of IDC-Oregon's efforts to regulate the interior design profession through House Bill 2153 introduced in the 2017 Oregon legislative session. As longtime members of the Oregon design community, we feel regulation and licensure of interior designers in Oregon is imperative to ensure quality and competency standards within the profession.

The design and construction industry face many issues in 2017, but one of the most significant is user safety and health in regards to material and finish selection. Unlike the food we eat, building materials do not yet have labels that describe their every component or possible side effects. There are many materials used commonly in the building industry that have known human side effects.

Here at Bora we believe in three core values that touch every facet of our work; we strive to tangibly improve the human condition; be an example of how to heal the earth; and provide sublime experiences of uncommon beauty through our work.

The majority of interior finish materials users come into contact with cause poor air quality. At Bora, we take pride in our ongoing, active materials research and work with other institutions to keep at the forefront regarding materials and their use, but not all interior designers are as mindful and none obligated to meet any standard.

BORA

This issue of transparency alone, not to mention code compliance, occupational health, accessibility for all people and the advancement of the Oregon design professionals as a whole are reasons we support your efforts for professional recognition of Interior Designers in Oregon.

Bora Architects

Amy K. Donohue, AIA, Principal

Сору

Representative Brian Clem Representative David Gomberg Representative Ken Helm Representative Andy Olson Representative Bill Post Representative E. Werner Reschke