

OCBA Testimony in Support of SCR 30 June 14, 2017, 1 pm, HR D House Committee on Rules

Chair Williamson, Vice Chairs McLain and Rayfield, and Representatives Barreto, Hack, Holvey, Kennemer, Nosse, and Smith Warner:

The Oregon Commission on Black Affairs (OCBA) supports SCR 30 which memorializes the bravery and visionary leadership of the officers and enlisted men of the 555th Airborne known, during their service in WWII, as the Triple Nickels. Their distinguished service marked a turning point in the US military, opening doors for Black servicemen to earn their Silver Wings as parachuters, growing the leadership of Black officers within armed services, and opening minds to the excellence and potential of Black enlisted men at the highest levels. Many of the individuals within the 555th continued their service in Korea following their WWII duty as smoke jumper patrols for incendiary balloon bombs in the Pacific Northwest, a Silver Star recipient among them.

Their thrilling story is captured in the wording of the resolution and the OCBA is proud to support SCR 30. We and our sister Advocacy Commissions also support SCR 30 as an example of the rich fabric of historically significant contributions of Oregonians of color, women and LGBTQ communities. We believe the 555th Airborne and SCR30 are also an important part of the larger conversation in the 2017

legislative session on the rich rewards of investments in inclusive pedagogy for Oregon Studies in grade school and high school as well as development of ethnic studies standards as part of social studies. We are proud to join the bipartisan group of legislators supporting SCR 30 and look forward to future work together as we build inclusive Oregon history.

Sincerely,

Chair, James Morris

Oregon Commission on Black Affairs

"Advocating Equality and Diversity" 1819 SW 5th Ave., Portland, OR 97201 O 503.302.9725/F 503.473.8519

Email: <u>oaco.mail@oregon.gov</u>
Website: <u>www.oregon.gov/OCBA</u>

OR Commission on Black Affairs

Chair: James Morris

Vice Chair: Robin Morris Collin

Commissioners:

Mariotta Gary-Smith Kayse Jama Musse Olol Gwendolyn Trice

Legislative Liaisons: Senator Rod Monroe Representative Janelle Bynum

Staff:

Lucy Baker, Administrator Nancy Kramer, Executive Asst. Ty Schwoeffermann, Policy Analyst

Vice Chair, Robin Morris Collin

Morres Pollin