

June 14, 2017

TO: Senator Rod Monroe and Representative Barbara Smith Warner, Co-Chairs and Members of the Joint Ways and Means Subcommittee on Education

FROM: Nan Heim, Executive Director
Oregon Academy of Ophthalmology

RE: Support for SB 187

The Oregon Academy of Ophthalmology supports SB 187 to help provide more vision screenings for Oregon's children.

Our members have worked for many years with both the Oregon Lions Vision and Hearing Foundation and the Elks Children's Eye Clinic at OHSU's Casey Eye Institute. Both organizations have done phenomenal work providing vision screenings to children across the state, both before and after the passage of HB 3000, the Children's Vision Screening Act.

Most recently, we have fostered a partnership called See to Read between the Elks Eye Clinic and the Oregon Library Association. The Lions have been involved as well. See to Read provides free vision screenings for children, mostly preschoolers, at public libraries all over Oregon, usually timed around children's story times. Screeners provide documentation for schools to show that the children have been screened as required by HB 3000. When a screening indicates a potential vision problem for a child, referrals to an ophthalmologist or optometrist are provided for a comprehensive examination.

Our members urge that funding for SB 187 support vision screenings as the first step in vision assessment. The technology available today, and used by both the Lions and Elks, is both cost-effective and incredibly accurate at identifying potential vision problems.

Thank you for your consideration of this vitally important legislation.

833 SW 11th, Suite 315 Portland, Oregon 97205 (503) 222-EYES (3937) FAX: (503) 243-6755 oao@oregoneyephysicians.org www.oregoneyephysicians.org

<u>2016-2018 Officers</u> Jonathan Kemp, M.D. *President, Portland* 

Jennifer Lyons, M.D. *Vice-President, Portland* 

Julie Falardeau, M.D. Secretary-Treasurer, Portland

Jason Dimmig, M.D. Past President, Bend

Dinelli Monson, M.D. *AAO Councilor, Tualatin* 

Christen Richard, M.D. *OMA Delegate, Portland* 

2016-2018 Board Members Robert Bentley, M.D. Portland

William Epstein, M.D. Ashland

Mary DeFrank, M.D. *Hillsboro* 

Matthew Hauck, M.D. *Medford* 

Helen Koenigsman, M.D. *Medford* 

Michael Lee, M.D.

Portland

Steven Mansberger, M.D. *Portland* 

J. Kevin McKinney, M.D. *Portland* 

John Polansky, M.D. Eugene

John Samples, M.D. *Portland* 

Eric Suhler, M.D.

Portland

Scot Sullivan, M.D. *Portland* 

David Wilson, M.D.

Portland

Jonathan Yoken, M.D. *Portland*