# **Brief Summary of Difference**

### Between Current Oregon Eviction Law and HB2004A Just Cause Eviction Law

For more information, contact Sybil Hebb, Oregon Law Center, 503-936-8959

HB 2004A requires landlords to provide a valid reason for evicting tenants, and retains ability to evict for lease violations.

# **Current Oregon Eviction Law**

Below is the list of current ways an Oregon landlord may terminate a month-to-month tenancy under ORS Chapter 90.

1. <u>No-cause termination notices</u>. No reason required, may be used at any time even if Tenant is in full compliance with rental agreement. Landlord doesn't have to have a reason, and if Landlord does have a reason, doesn't have to tell the Tenant what it is. **30-day notice**, or **60-day notice** after the first year of occupancy. (Portland and Milwaukie require 90-day notice) ORS 90.427 (3)

### 2. For-cause termination notices:

- **a. 30-day notice for any material violation of the rental agreement, or for failure to comply with tenant duties.** The tenant may cure the cause within 14 days. If the tenant commits substantially the same violation within 6 months, a 10 day for-cause termination notice can be used, with no right to cure the violation/cause. Tenant duties include keeping the premises clean, using the premises in a reasonable manner, not disturbing other tenants, etc. ORS 90.392 and ORS 90.325
- b. 10-day termination notice for an unpermitted pet. Tenant may cure. 90.405
- c. 72-hour notice for nonpayment of rent; tenant can cure within the 72 hours. ORS 90.394
- **d. 48-hour termination notice for possession or use of alcohol or drugs in alcohol-and-drug-free housing.** Tenant may cure. ORS 90.398
- **e. 24-hour notice for outrageous conduct** such as drugs, violence, intimidation, causing significant injury or damage, or other outrageous acts; tenant may not cure. ORS 90.396
- f. 24-hour termination notice for an unauthorized person in possession of a dwelling unit. ORS 90.403
- **g. 24-hour termination notice for drug or alcohol use in a group recovery home** (e.g., Oxford House). No FED required. 90.440
- h. 24-hour termination notice for perpetrating domestic violence. 90.445

#### **HB 2004A: Just-cause Evictions**

Remove no-cause termination notices from the law, <u>after the first six months of a tenancy</u>, due to their potential for significant retaliatory, discriminatory, and displacement impact on Oregon renters and communities. Under HB 2004A, a landlord must have a stated cause in order to terminate. Terminations would be in 1 of 2 categories:

### 1. Landlord-based legitimate causes:

- **a.** Landlord has sold the property to a person who will live in it as a primary residence; Landlord or family member wants to move into the property as a primary residence; Repairs or renovations are needed that can't be done while the unit is occupied; Landlord intends to demolish the unit or to convert the dwelling into a different use.
- **b.** Landlord would give tenant 90 days' notice, and pay an amount equal to one month's rent towards moving expenses. *Landlords with 4 or fewer units would not pay relocation expenses*.
- **2.** Tenant-based causes: Retain all the current for-cause notices allowed under current law.
- **3.** Exceptions: The new law would <u>not apply</u> to a landlord who lives on the same property as the tenant with 2 or fewer units.