

To: House Committee on Higher Education and Workforce Development
From: Richard Donovan, Oregon School Boards Association
Re: House Bill 2313-5
Date: April 17, 2017

Chair Reardon and members of the House Committee on Higher Education and Workforce Development:

On behalf of the Oregon School Boards Association membership, including 197 school districts, 17 Community Colleges, and 19 Education Service Districts throughout the state of Oregon, thank you for the opportunity to testify in support of HB 2313 as amended by the -5 amendments.

As the members of the committee know well, the volume of education reform that the Legislature has undertaken recently is staggering. Since 2011, the Legislature has deliberately changed the structure of education, moving away from the traditional "siloed" system of pre-Kindergarten, K-12, and post-secondary education. The Legislature has embraced the P-20 system, with specific attention given to accelerated credit and transition points between secondary and post-secondary education.

OSBA is in support of the -5 amendments, specifically because of the language in Sec. 6(3)(a)(A). That language requires the task force created by the bill to align the work of the task force with, "state statutes, rules, standards and requirements to improve the transferability of credits earned in an accelerated college credit program to post-secondary institutions of education." This language means that the ongoing work done by districts, educators, and administrators statewide to increase access to college credit in high school also means that those credits are aligned with the requirements of the post-secondary system. And, while doing college-level work in high school may be beneficial, it is certainly more valuable if that work results in credits that are accepted by a post-secondary institution.

OSBA supports HB 2313-5 and, again, thanks the committee for the opportunity to testify.

OFFICERS

President Betty Reynolds West Linn-Wilsonville SD President-elect LeeAnn Larsen Beaverton SD Vice President Tass Morrison North Santiam SD Secretary-Treasurer Don Cruise Philomath SD Past President Doug Nelson High Desert DSD

DIRECTORS

Paul Anthony Portland PS Kevin Cassidy Baker SD Carlos Castañeda Gladstone SD Sherry Duerst-Higgins Lane ESD/South Lane Susan FitzGerald Yamhill-Carlton SD Cheri Helt Bend-La Pine SD Kris Howatt Gresham-Barlow SD Kaye Jones Greg Kintz Vernonia SD Hank Perry Douglas ESD Craig Prewitt Phoenix-Talent SD Scott Rogers Athena-Weston SD Lori Theros Klamath Falls City SD Maureen Wolf Tigard-Tualatin SD Michelle Vo Corbett SD

EX-OFFICIO DIRECTORS

COSA/OASE Craig Hawkins OAESD Joel Robe State Board of Education Charles Martinez, Jr.

EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR Jim Green

DEPUTY EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR Mary Paulson