

## 1201 Court Street NE, Suite 400, Salem, OR 97301 503-588-2800 | 800-578-6722 | Fax 503-588-2813 | www.osba.org

To: House Committee on Education

From: Richard Donovan, Oregon School Boards Association

Re: House Bill 2246 Date: April 17, 2017

Chair Doherty and members of the House Committee on Education:

On behalf of OSBA's members, including 197 school districts and 19 Education Service Districts throughout the state of Oregon, thank you for the opportunity to on House Bill 2246 with amendments.

The members of the committee are aware of the process that helped generate both sets of amendments, the -1s and -2s, that are before you today. A work group, convened by Speaker Kotek and Chair Doherty, met and discussed, over a period of about six weeks, potential changes to laws resulting from the passage of Ballot Measure 98. While all invitees in the work group participated and gave input, the four legislators on the work group agreed on the final proposal. The main themes of that proposal exist in both sets of amendments.

OSBA supports implementation of Ballot Measure 98, and supports the theme of the proposal. It would create a three-tiered system aimed at giving some flexibility to school districts in implementation of the measure.

However, it is worth mentioning that OSBA would be interested in further increases to flexibility regarding the way these funds may be spent. The work group considered, and for a period of time tentatively accepted, another proposal that would have given greater flexibility for how schools and school districts could deploy Ballot Measure 98 funds. Ultimately, the proposal before the committee today does increase flexibility, and that is a good step. However, in light of the projected budget this biennium, it might make sense for the Legislature to make the choice to give school districts more flexibility.

I am happy to answer any questions you may have.

## **OFFICERS**

President
Betty Reynolds
West Linn-Wilsonville SD
President-elect
LeeAnn Larsen
Beaverton SD
Vice President
Tass Morrison
North Santiam SD
Secretary-Treasurer
Don Cruise
Philomath SD
Past President
Doug Nelson

## **DIRECTORS**

**Paul Anthony** Portland PS **Kevin Cassidy** Carlos Castañeda Sherry Duerst-Higgins Susan FitzGerald Cheri Helt Bend-La Pine SD Kris Howatt Kaye Jones **Greg Kintz** Hank Perry Douglas ESD **Craig Prewitt Scott Rogers** Athena-Weston SD Lori Theros

## **EX-OFFICIO DIRECTORS**

Klamath Falls City SD Maureen Wolf Tigard-Tualatin SD Michelle Vo

COSA/OASE
Craig Hawkins
OAESD
Joel Robe
State Board of Education
Charles Martinez, Jr.

**EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR** 

Jim Green

DEPUTY EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR

**Mary Paulson**