

1201 Court Street NE, Suite 400, Salem, OR 97301 503-588-2800 | 800-578-6722 | Fax 503-588-2813 | www.osba.org

To: House Committee on Education

From: Richard Donovan, Oregon School Boards Association

Re: House Bill 3351 April 17, 2017 Date:

Chair Doherty and members of the House Committee on Education:

On behalf of OSBA's members, including 197 school districts and 19 Education Service Districts throughout the state of Oregon, thank you for the opportunity to testify in support of House Bill 3351.

One of OSBA's main lines of service is our Policy department. Among other things, that department manages a tremendous variety of sample policies for school district boards to consider and adopt, including sample policies around the proper management of complaints to the school district. OSBA is not aware of a district that has not adopted a policy regarding handling of complaints. I have submitted a sample policy for your consideration.

House Bill 3351 represents a mechanism to implement a better process around complaints. The bill would require that any person first resolve the local complaint process, and submit verification, before filing a complaint with the Teachers Standards and Practices Commission (TSPC).

It is a simple, process-based solution that will have the practical benefit of streamlining the process and removing duplicative work from the desks of the staff at the TSPC. The bill does not preclude anyone from complaining to the TSPC, but rather ensures that local processes have been completed. OSBA is happy to support HB 3351 and I am happy to answer any questions you have.

OFFICERS

President **Betty Reynolds** West Linn-Wilsonville SD President-elect LeeAnn Larsen Vice President Tass Morrison North Santiam SD Secretary-Treasurer Don Cruise Philomath SD Past President Doug Nelson

DIRECTORS

Paul Anthony Portland PS **Kevin Cassidy** Carlos Castañeda Sherry Duerst-Higgins Susan FitzGerald Cheri Helt Bend-La Pine SD Kris Howatt Gresham-Barlow SD **Kaye Jones Greg Kintz** Vernonia SD **Hank Perry** Douglas ESD **Craig Prewitt Scott Rogers**

Athena-Weston SD Lori Theros Klamath Falls City SD

Maureen Wolf Michelle Vo

EX-OFFICIO DIRECTORS

COSA/OASE **Craig Hawkins**

Joel Robe

State Board of Education Charles Martinez, Jr.

EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR

Jim Green

DEPUTY EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR

Mary Paulson