# HB 2221 -3 STAFF MEASURE SUMMARY

# **House Committee On Human Services and Housing**

Prepared By: Cassandra Soucy, LPRO Analyst

Meeting Dates: 2/9, 2/16, 4/11

# WHAT THE MEASURE DOES:

Directs Oregon Health Authority (OHA) and Department of Consumer and Business Services to report to the Legislative Assembly each calendar quarter on implementation of child abuse medical assessments including reimbursements, number of grievances, and consumer complaints 30 days after effective date. Requires OHA to pay nine percent interest rate on late child abuse medical assessment reimbursements to community assessment centers. Declares emergency, effective on passage.

# **ISSUES DISCUSSED:**

- Payment for child abuse medical assessments
- Cost of child abuse medical assessments
- Reimbursement of child abuse medical assessments

# **EFFECT OF AMENDMENT:**

-3 Requires Oregon Health Authority to report to Legislative Assembly every 12 months. Requires OHA to immediately report to the Joint Committee on Ways and Means any instance of insufficient funds in a coordinated care organization's (CCO) budget to reimburse child abuse medical assessments. Requires Department of Consumer and Business Services to report failure to implement or enforce reimbursement of child abuse medical assessments. Requires OHA to ensure the community assessment center is reimbursed by CCO for child abuse medical assessments conducted on child enrolled in CCO. Removes OHA requirement to adopt billing and payment mechanisms. Specifies requirements for full reimbursement of the child abuse medical assessment cost. Requires CCO to report to OHA on any claims for reimbursement not paid.

# **BACKGROUND:**

In 2015, the Oregon Legislature passed House Bill 2234 requiring the Oregon Health Authority to reimburse community assessment centers for child abuse medical assessments and related services.

House Bill 2221 directs the Oregon Health Authority (OHA) and Department of Consumer and Business Services to report to the Legislative Assembly each calendar quarter on the implementation of child abuse medical assessments. Information required within the report includes number of reimbursements, grievances, and consumer complaints. HB 2221 also requires OHA to pay a nine percent interest rate on late child abuse medical assessment reimbursements to community assessment centers.