SB 27 -1 STAFF MEASURE SUMMARY

Joint Committee On Ways and Means

Prepared By: Gregory Jolivette, Budget Analyst **Meeting Dates:** 4/6

WHAT THE MEASURE DOES:

Effective on the 91st day following adjournment sine die, SB 27 deletes the requirement for pilots operating aircraft in Oregon to register with the Oregon Department of Aviation, and abolishes the Aviation Search and Rescue Account.

ISSUES DISCUSSED:

EFFECT OF AMENDMENT:

-1 The amendment changes the bill effective date to July 1, 2017.

BACKGROUND:

Current law requires pilots operating aircraft in Oregon to register with the Oregon Department of Aviation. The initial pilot registration fee is \$24 for one year, with renewal fees of \$48 paid biennially. The revenue is deposited into the Aviation Search and Rescue Account, and used to support the Search and Rescue Program administered by the Office of Emergency Management (OEM), as well as to pay Department of Aviation expenses to register pilots.

The rationale for the bill is that state-level registration does not provide public safety benefits above and beyond those provided by Federal Aviation Administration (FAA) certification. All pilots are required to obtain FAA certification, which requires passing both written and practical tests. In addition, because the fee is difficult to collect, the Department expends significant effort to collect a relatively small amount of revenue (\$161,000).