

March 27, 2017

TO:	Senator Arnie Roblan, Chair
	Senator Dennis Linthicum
	Members of the Senate Education Committee

- FROM: Nan Heim and Amanda Dalton Oregon Academy of Ophthalmology
- RE: Opposition to Senate Bill 142

Chair Roblan, Vice Chair Linthicum and Members of the Committee:

Members of the Oregon Academy of Ophthalmology are nearly 200 physicians and surgeons throughout the state specializing in eye care.

Pediatric ophthalmologists are those who have completed fellowships in this subspecialty and their patients are exclusively children. Pediatric ophthalmologists in Oregon have expressed great concern about Senate Bill 142. They believe very strongly that the Irlen lens therapy has been proven to be ineffective in treating reading disorders. They contend that this therapy can actually be detrimental because it can delay accurate diagnoses and effective treatment or therapy for learning disabilities.

One pediatric ophthalmologist explained the theory of Irlen lenses is that the lateral geniculate nucleus (known as the "visual pathway") in some individuals responds to different colors effectively. Testing in lab situations can sometimes show brief and measureable results, making the Irlen lens therapy seem plausible. Outside of lab situations, however, individuals adapt quickly and the results do not last.

The members of the Oregon Academy of Ophthalmology urge the Committee to oppose Senate Bill 142.

833 SW 11th, Suite 315 Portland, Oregon 97205 (503) 222-EYES (3937) FAX: (503) 243-6755 oao@oregoneyephysicians.org www.oregoneyephysicians.org

<u>2016-2018 Officers</u> Jonathan Kemp, M.D. President, Portland

Jennifer Lyons, M.D. Vice-President, Portland

Julie Falardeau, M.D. Secretary-Treasurer, Portland

Jason Dimmig, M.D. Past President, Bend

Dinelli Monson, M.D. AAO Councilor, Tualatin

Christen Richard, M.D. OMA Delegate, Portland

<u>2016-2018 Board Members</u> Robert Bentley, M.D. Portland

William Epstein, M.D. Ashland

Mary DeFrank, M.D. Hillsboro

Matthew Hauck, M.D. Medford

Helen Koenigsman, M.D. Medford

Michael Lee, M.D. Portland

Steven Mansberger, M.D. Portland

J. Kevin McKinney, M.D. Portland

John Polansky, M.D. Eugene

John Samples, M.D. Portland

Eric Suhler, M.D. Portland

Scot Sullivan, M.D. Portland

David Wilson, M.D. Portland

Jonathan Yoken, M.D. Portland

Nan Heim, Executive Director