HB 3087 STAFF MEASURE SUMMARY

House Committee On Early Childhood and Family Supports

Prepared By: Zena Rockowitz, LPRO Analyst **Sub-Referral To:** House Committee On Revenue

Meeting Dates: 3/23, 4/6

WHAT THE MEASURE DOES:

Creates family and medical leave insurance benefits program to provide portion of wages to employees. Authorizes director of Department of Consumer and Business Services (DCBS) to adopt rules. Creates Family and Medical Leave Insurance Fund (fund). Authorizes director to set weekly benefit amount. Requires payroll contributions into fund not to exceed 0.5 percent of employee wages, to be paid by employers and employees. Creates eligibility criteria. Allows self-employed to elect coverage. Permits up to 12 weeks of benefits per benefit year and additional six weeks of benefits for parental leave. Requires 30 days' notice to employer for commencing leave; creates exceptions. Enables employee to be restored to position upon returning to work and to maintain health care benefits. Prohibits retaliatory and discriminatory actions by personnel. Specifies provisions around collective bargaining, employment benefits and disabling compensable injuries. Requires employer to display and provide notice of employee rights. Authorizes director to establish system for enforcement and appeal of contested cases involving benefits. Creates penalties for false statements or claims and remedy for erroneous payments. Directs director to submit report by January 1, 2020 and every two years. Specifies employee must work 90 days, instead of 180 days, immediately preceding the date on which leave commences. Creates effective dates.

FISCAL: May have fiscal impact, but no statement yet issued

REVENUE: May have revenue impact, but no statement yet issued

ISSUES DISCUSSED:

EFFECT OF AMENDMENT:

BACKGROUND:

Certain employers in Oregon are required to provide *unpaid* family leave to their employees under the Oregon Family Leave Act (OFLA), Oregon Family and Military Family Leave Act, and the federal Family and Medical Leave Act (FMLA).

OFLA applies to employers with 25 or more employees in the current or prior year. Eligible employees may take OFLA leave for parental leave, a serious health condition, pregnancy disability leave, sick child leave, or death of a family member. Under OFLA, employees may take up to 12 weeks of leave per year. There is additional leave time available for pregnancy disability leave, parental leave, and sick child leave. An employee is eligible for benefits if they have worked at least 180 days with an average of 25 hours per week before leave commences. OFLA requires that employees give 30 days' notice to employers in advance of taking leave, unless it is impractical. Employees are entitled to return to their former jobs or equivalent job if the position no longer exists. Employers can require that employees use accrued paid leave during OFLA leave and employees may opt to use accrued paid leave. Under the FMLA, a business with 50 or more employees is required to give an employee up to 12 weeks of unpaid leave for certain family and medical reasons. Any leave taken under FMLA counts as OFLA leave, provided the employee is eligible for OFLA.

The U.S. Department of Labor reports that paid maternity leave can increase workforce participation, increase retention, and improve child health outcomes. As of 2015, 12 percent of U.S. private sector workers have access to

HB 3087 STAFF MEASURE SUMMARY

paid family leave through their employer. California, New Jersey, Rhode Island offer paid family leave. New York and Washington D.D.C. enacted paid family leave laws that are not yet effective. These insurance systems require funds through employee payroll contributions (California and Rhode Island), employer payroll contributions (Washington D.C.) and combined employer and employee payroll contributions (New Jersey and New York).