

## **Department of Human Services**

*Office of Developmental Disability Services* 500 Summer St. NE, E-02 Salem, OR 97301 Voice: 503-947-5476 Fax: 503-373-7823

March 22, 2017

Chair Gelser Vice-Chair Olsen Members of Senate Human Services Committee

Re: Angie Allbee Testimony, SB223

SB 223 Summary: SB223-1 (amended) requires home care workers (HCWs), including Personal Support Workers (PSWs), enrolled by OHCC (Oregon Home Care Commission to meet the training required by Oregon Health Authority of inhome care agency (IHCA) caregivers. This bill also requires criminal background checks on IHCA caregivers.

**Background checks** are completed for both HCWs/PSWs that apply for enrollment through OHCC and IHCA serving Medicaid recipients by the State Background Check Unit (BCU).

**OHCC Specific Training:** Training that HCWs/PSWs receive through OHCC currently includes a required New Member Orientation, which is a three hour class given within the first 30 days of serving a working as an HCW/PSW. The training covers topics from Oregon rules governing the services HCWs/PSWs provide, service authorization and payments, employee responsibilities, and fraud prevention. HCWs/PSWs are not trained on specific caregiving skills or tasks for individuals.

While OHCC offers a variety of other classes, HCWs/PSWs are currently not required to take any other training. HCWs/PSWs are trained by the service recipient or an employer designated by the individual to oversee their employment. The employer may also require the HCW/PSW to take OHCC offered training classes.

**Medicaid Certified Agency Specific Training:** Office of Developmental Disabilities Services (ODDS) certifies Medicaid Certified Agencies that deliver inhome and 24 hour residential care to individuals with developmental disabilities. Workers in these settings are called Direct Support Professionals (DSPs). DSPs and



PSWs perform similar work in in-home settings and the skills required to perform this work are very similar. The training required of DSPs includes:

- Initial and annual training on abuse including on mandatory reporting responsibilities
- CPR and First Aid training within 90 days of employment,
- DSPs working in an individual's home must have 6 hours of pre-service training using the Tier 1 ODDS developed Core Competency training including:
  - Rights: Complaints, Confidentiality, Civil and Human Rights
  - Value: Dignity, Respect and Person Centered Language
  - Health: Common health risks, adaptive equipment, infection control, medication administration and documentation
  - Safety: Safe food handling, safe chemical management, responding to emergencies, and providing support and non-physical interventions for challenging behaviors
  - Planning: Introduction to Individual Service Plans (ISP), Guardians and Health Care Representatives
  - Incident Reporting Requirements
- 12 hours of job-related in-service using the Tier 2 ODDS developed DSP Core Competency training annually including:
  - Rights: Preventing abuse, neglect and exploitation and legal guardianship
  - Values: Supporting people to make choices, increasing independence, supporting productive citizens, supporting active community members, effective communication, and employment services in Oregon
  - Health: Medication administration, responding to non-emergency health changes
  - Safety: responding to person to person or person to property incidents
  - Planning: Person Centered practices and planning, supporting relationships and goals in an ISP
  - Documentation of services

**Summary**: SB 223-1 requires that HCW/PSW training be as rigorous as the training required of employees of an IHCA which covers a wide array of applicable training for personal care services. This is a significantly higher standard than is currently utilized. While we are neutral on the bill itself, we look forward to working with the Committee if this bill progresses.

Sincerely,

Angela E. Allbee, Legislative Coordinator Oregon Department of Human Services