

Public Employees Retirement System

Headquarters:
11410 S.W. 68th Parkway, Tigard, OR
Mailing Address:
P.O. Box 23700
Tigard, OR 97281-3700
(503) 598-7377
TTY (503) 603-7766
www.oregon.gov/pers

March 3, 2017

TO: Members of Senate Committee on Workforce

FROM: Marjorie Taylor, Senior Policy Director

SUBJECT: PERS Board Members

During the committee's meeting on March 1, 2017, members requested a list of individuals who have served on the PERS Board. The following lists those individuals that we had readily available in our records from the time of the plan's inception, along with their approximate terms of service. We also noted, where indicated, the type of position the individual filled on the Board and their reason for departing.

Board Member	Board Position	Years of Service
W. C. Schuppel, chair		1945 - 1955 (Resigned)
Ralph A. Coan		1945 - 1950
James M. Burgess		1945 - 1950
I. A. DeFrance		1945 - 1955
Frank L. Emery		1945 - 1953 (Retired)
Frank B. Bennett		1950 - 1964 (Retired)
Charles R. Harding		1950 - 1953 (Resigned)
Ralph Thom, chair		1953 - 1959 (Resigned)
Harold F. Phillippe		1953 - 1968 (Retired)
Gertrude Chamberlin		1955 - 1959
W. P. Stalnaker, chair		1955 - 1968
Eugene F. Schmidt		1959 - 1963
Robert H. Hazen		1959 - 1963 (Resigned)
Chalmers L. Jones, chair	State Management	1963 - 1975
Carlton G. Morehouse		1963 - 1965 (Resigned)
Guy Shellenbarger		1964 - 1970
June S. Jones, Sr.		1965 - 1969 (Resigned)
Edwin H. Armstrong		1968 - 1978
Robert W. Gormsen		1968 - 1973 (Retired)
Roger S. Meier, chair		1969 - 1979
Joesph J. Adams, chair		1970 - 1976 (Resigned)
Hugh McKinley		1973 - 1975 (Resigned)
William Holtsclaw, chair		1975 - 1979
Glen Hankins, vice-chair		1975 - 1981
Jan Clemmer		1976 - 1982
Constance C. Jarvis		1976 - 1980
Virgil H. Langtry, chair		1981 - ?
Stephen M. Telfer, chair		1983 - 1987

Board Member	Board Position	Years of Service
J. Edward Schroeder, chair		1987 - 1994
Glenn Harrison, chair	School District, Labor	1988 - 1994
Janice Hiserote		1983 - ?
Darlene Hooley		1988 - 1992
Wallace Johnson		1989 - 1990
Mike Marsh	State Management	1990 - 1993
Dan McCall		1988 - 1990
Kenneth Novack		1991 - 1992
H. Dean Pape		1987 - 1988
Robert Straub	State Management	1988 - 1990
Ralph Thom		
Thomas E. Whelan		1989 - 1990
C. Patricia Wickman		1988 - 1992
R. Jon Yunker	State Management	1987 - 1990
Pat Riggs-Henson, vice-chair, 1996; chair, 1997-1998	Political	7/88 - 6/97
Tom Greenwood	Firefighter, Labor	8/89 - 6/95
Anthony Palermini, chair 1994- 1995	School District Management	6/90 - 7/95 (Retired)
Peter Ozanne	Public Member (OIC member)	6/91 - 6/99
James Loewen	State Labor	8/92 - 8/98 (Retired)
Emile Holeman, vice-chair 1997- 98; chair 1999-2001	County Official	9/92 – 8/03
I. S. "Bud" Hakanson	(Retired), School District Management	4/93 - 12/98 (Resigned)
C. Leonard Anderson	School District, Labor (Teacher)	12/93 - 12/99 (Retired)
Gary Weeks	State, Management	12/93 - 10/98 (Resigned)
Lester Von Flue	Firefighter, labor	8/95 - 10/00 (Resigned)
Russell Joki	School District, Management	8/95 - 01/00 (Resigned)
Patricia Brown, vice-chair 1999-2001	Public Member	9/95 - 10/03
Pamela Lesh	Public Member	9/95 - 6/97 (Resigned)
Elaine Ciafarone	Public Member	9/97 - 7/99 (Resigned)
Jeanne Garst	Local Government	9/98 - 8/03 (Dismissed)
Dawn Morgan, chair 2002-03	State Employee, Labor	9/98 - 8/03 (Dismissed)
Steven Bjerke	Local Government, Management	3/99 - 8/03(Dismissed)
Glenn Harrison	(Retired Teacher), Labor	3/99 - 8/03 (Dismissed)
Mark Gardiner	Public Member	10/99 - 8/03(Dismissed)
Christine Brown; vice-chair, 2002	Public Member	10/99 - 8/03 (Dismissed)
Elizabeth Harchenko	State Management	9/98 - 8/03 (Dismissed)
Todd Schwartz	Firefighter, Labor	12/99 - 8/03 (Dismissed)
George Russell	School District, Management	5/00 - 8/03 (Dismissed)
Janice Deringer	Public Member, Pension	2/02 - 8/03(Dismissed)

Board Member	Board Position	Years of Service
Michael Pittman; chair, 2003-	Public Member	9/03 - 2/12 (Resigned)
2010		
Brenda Rocklin; vice-chair,	State Management	9/03 - 2/10 (Resigned)
2003-2008		
Thomas Grimsley; vice-chair,	School Teacher, Labor	9/03 - 10/10 (Resigned)
2009-2010		
James Dalton; chair, 2010-2012	Public Member	9/03 - 9/12 (Resigned)
Eva Kripalani	Public Member	9/03 - 2/12 (Resigned)
Laurie Warner; vice-chair, 2010-	State Management	02/10 – 12/12 (Resigned)
2012		
Patrick L. West; vice-chair,	Firefighter, Labor	10/10 – Current
2012-		
John Thomas; chair, 2012-	Public Member	03/12 – Current
Rhoni Seguin-Wiswall	Public Member	03/12 - 9/15 (Resigned)
Krystal Gema	Public Member	10/12 – Current
Michael Jordan	State Management	01/13 – 5/15 (Resigned)
Lawrence Furnstahl	State Management	5/15 – Current
Stephen Buckley	Public Member	10/15 - Current