

1201 Court Street NE, Suite 400, Salem, OR 97301 503-588-2800 | 800-578-6722 | Fax 503-588-2813 | www.osba.org

To: Joint Committee on Ways & Means, Education Subcommittee

From: Richard Donovan, Oregon School Boards Association

Re: House Bill 5038 Date: February 23, 2017

Chairs Monroe, Smith Warner, and members of the Education Subcommittee:

On behalf of OSBA's membership, including 197 school districts and 19 Education Service Districts throughout the state of Oregon, thank you for the opportunity to testify on House Bill 5038. HB 5038 represents the funding mechanism for the Teacher's Standards and Practices Commission (TSPC) for the upcoming 2017-19 biennium. OSBA supports the good work of the TSPC, and supports the passage of HB 5038.

It is unusual for OSBA to submit testimony on an agency budget bill. However, we support HB 5038 in recognition of the good work done by the TSPC since Dr. Monica Beane became TSPC Executive Director in June of 2016. Prior to Dr. Beane's arrival, TSPC performance was considered by many education stakeholders to be sub-par. OSBA was among the groups that were critical of the performance of the TSPC at that time. To address these concerns, in 2015 the Legislature passed House Bill 3338, directing the Office of the Secretary of State to perform a performance audit on the TSPC. The audit listed several findings recommending specific improvements that the TSPC needed to make in the near term.

Since Dr. Beane joined the TSPC, the concerns of the audit have largely been addressed. Wait times for teacher and administrator licensure have been reduced from many months to a few weeks. Response time is down. An existing paper-based license application process has been modernized and made more efficient. Dr. Beane and Deputy Director Danowski have been tireless advocates for the agency. They spend their days presenting to groups, increasing transparency, and genuinely listening to concerns of all education stakeholders and community members.

We support the good work of the TSPC, look forward to continued improvement in the future, and recommend your support for HB 5038.

OFFICERS

President
Betty Reynolds
West Linn-Wilsonville SD
President-elect
LeeAnn Larsen
Beaverton SD
Vice President
Tass Morrison
North Santiam SD
Secretary-Treasurer
Don Cruise
Philomath SD
Past President
Doug Nelson

DIRECTORS

Francisco Acosta, Jr. Multnomah ESD **Paul Anthony Kevin Cassidy** Carlos Castañeda Gladstone SD **Sherry Duerst-Higgins** Susan FitzGerald Yamhili-Carlton SD Cheri Helt Bend-La Pine SD Kris Howatt **Kaye Jones Greg Kintz Hank Perry Craig Prewitt** Scott Rogers **Lori Theros**

EX-OFFICIO DIRECTORS

Klamath Falls City SD Maureen Wolf Tigard-Tualatin SD

COSA/OASE
Craig Hawkins
OAESD
Joel Robe
State Board of Education
Charles Martinez, Jr.

EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR

Jim Green