FIREARMS SURRENDER AND RETURN TERMS For RESPONDENTS under RESTRAINING ORDERS

The restraining order against you <u>may</u> prohibit you from possessing firearms and ammunition and require you to surrender them. Read your order carefully. The firearms section is on page 4, paragraph 10 & 10A.

IF THE RESTRAINING ORDER PROHIBITS YOU from possessing firearms and ammunition and orders that surrender terms apply, **you must do one of the following within the deadline** stated.

1. <u>Surrender to law enforcement any firearms and/or ammunition in your possession, control, or custody</u> at the time you are served with the restraining order. If the firearms or ammunition are not in your custody at that time, you must surrender them to law enforcement (see bottom of page) within 48 hours of being served. If you are incarcerated when served, you must surrender them within 48 hours of your release.

You also must complete and file the Firearms Affidavit with the court within 3 business days.

2. <u>Have an eligible Third Party take possession of any firearms and/or ammunition in your</u> <u>possession, control, or custody</u> within 48 hours of being served. If you are incarcerated when served, a third party must take possession within 48 hours of your release.

You must complete an Oregon State Police ID Services firearms background check on the third party you select (unless that person is exempt – see Affidavit). To get a firearms background check, you must contact an Oregon gun dealer. A fee applies. Whether or not the background check is necessary, the third party must complete paragraph 5 of the Firearms Affidavit. You must also complete sections of the Firearms Affidavit and file it with the court within 3 business days.

3. <u>Tell the Court you have no firearms or ammunition</u>. If you do not have firearms or ammunition in your custody, control, or possession, you must complete paragraph 3 on the Firearms Affidavit and file the document with the Court within 3 business days.

4. <u>Tell the Court you do not want to answer because you do not want to incriminate yourself</u>. You must complete paragraph 4 on the Firearms Affidavit and file the document with the court w/in 3 days.

The **Firearms Affidavit** is included in your service packet. It is also available in Room 211 of the courthouse or online at: <u>http://courts.oregon.gov/courts/multnomah</u>.

FAILURE TO COMPLY WITH COURT-ORDERED TERMS ABOUT FIREARMS POSSESSION AND SURRENDER MAY SUBJECT YOU TO A CONTEMPT OF COURT CHARGE OR A CRIMINAL CHARGE.

OPTION TO SURRENDER TO LAW ENFORCEMENT

The Portland Police Bureau and the Multnomah County Sheriff's Office will accept unloaded firearms and ammunition or individuals under restraining orders, *regardless of the location of the respondent's residence*.

Portland Police Bureau Central Precinct 1111 SW 2nd Ave. Portland, Oregon 97204 Hours: 24 hours/7 days a week 503/823-0097 Portland Police Bureau Property & Evidence Division 2619 NW Industrial Way Portland, Oregon 97210 Hours: 9-12; 1-4 M-F 503/823-2179 Multnomah County Sheriff's Office 234 SW Kendall Ct Troutdale, OR 97060 Mon-Thurs 8- 4PM; Friday 8– 3PM Call 503-988-7300, option #5 to schedule

RETURN of firearms/ammunition: If a Law Enforcement agency has your firearms, they will do a background check on you first. Third parties returning guns to you may do a background check as well. 8/18